WWW Wednesday 7/17

What are you reading this week?  Play along with MizB at Should Be Reading and share your WWW, What have you finished, What are you reading and What is up next?

monster islandaviator wifeI finished one book this week, Monster Island by David Wellington which was a good gross out zombie book in Manhattan, NY.

I am nearly finished with The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin. If you like historical fiction, this is a good one. Honestly, I knew their baby was kidnapped and never returned, but I didn’t realize that their fame was so debilitating.  Holy crud.  I also started Manslaughter and other Tears a book of lyrical and kind of dark short stories by Dianne Gray.

Next up I think I am going to read The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley and Beguiled Again by Patricia Burroughs.  Though I might have to sneak a paranorma or urban fantasy in there too.  🙂

What are you reading right now?

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to WWW Wednesday 7/17

  1. I’m still rocking my way through that WWII Hitler Nazi book thing I started the other week.

    Also, that Aviator book made me think of The Aviator staring Leo de Cap.

    • ocdreader says:

      The Lindburgh’s hung out with Hitler for a while. They had so much fame in the US and people would pretty much tear their clothes from them in the attempt to get a momento that going to Germany and not being accosted was so peaceful and nice they wanted to live there. Then he did that kristallnacht thing and they realized it wasn’t as awesome there as they thought.
      I think that movie is same time period, but this is Charles Lindburgh’s wife POV. Pretty good, though fictionalized.

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I like the look of Monster Island. Happy Reading 😀 I’m currently reading Wintergirls. I’m really enjoying it 🙂

  3. Gwynn White says:

    The Aviator’s Wife . . . Lindburgh family? If so that’s a fascinating story. I’m ploughing my way through about four books at the moment. Nothing has really grabbed me.

    • ocdreader says:

      It would have been useful to mention that yes, it is about the Lindburgh’s! Sheesh, what everyone can’t read my mind!? How bizarre 🙂
      Yea, omg. I knew nothing and there is SO MUCH there. Of course it is fictionalized from Anne’s POV, but wow.

  4. lipsyy says:

    Ooh yeah Monster Island sounds good. My post is here: http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/www-wednesday-4/

  5. Layla says:

    I finished a book called The Dead Sea Scroll Deception which is nonfiction, but really interesting. Now I’m working on some pre-reading material for my graduate program in September… the first book was Italo Calvino’s Six Memos for the Next Millennium.. It was interesting, but very difficult to wrap my head around…

  6. Sounds like a good week of reading!

  7. carfor12 says:

    I have heard good things about the Aviator’s Wife. I really need to get a copy to read. Here is the link to my www Wednesdays: http://meandu-justthinking.blogspot.ca/2013/07/www-wednesday-5.html

  8. bibliobeth says:

    Monster Island looks soooo good. May need to purchase! Here’s my link http://wp.me/p32hC2-gS

  9. diannegray says:

    You’re a reading powerhouse! Hope you’re enjoying ‘Manslaughter’ 😉

  10. meganm922 says:

    Sounds like you have a tons of different kinds of books you’re reading, which is great. Monster Island sounds pretty interesting. =)
    Enjoy!
    Thanks for stopping by!

Don't be shy!

