Review – Hounded

houndedHounded (Iron Druid, Bk 1)

by Kevin Hearne

A super old Irish Druid (who is more like a 21 year old) is living in modern Arizona. His past catches up with him in this book.  He has an Irish Wolfhound who he can mind-meld  and talk to and he has a sword he is hiding from the Tuatha de Danaan.  They want it back.

So it was a good first book. I didn’t find it as funny as some other people. The dog, Oberon, was clever and the jokes were silly.  Don’t get me wrong, I like silly, they just fell a little flat for me. I can see myself enjoying the next one more because I will know what to expect.  So, Atticus has been hiding for a long time and has stayed too long in one spot.  But instead of running again, he decides to stay and fight it out.  He has the power.

There was something missing for me in this book and I really couldn’t tell you what it was! Maybe the story, there are plenty of characters, but I don’t care about them all that much yet.  The older Irish neighbor was a bit stereotyped as was the nosey jerk neighbor.  The fae were interesting as they didn’t speak clearly about what they wanted but resorted to manipulation.  The bad guys, we know their motivation but they weren’t that scary since Atticus was kind of blase about them for a while, until he realized he was in over his head and called in friend favors.  The witches were fairly interesting, but even then they lacked a full fleshing out.  I enjoyed the book and read it quickly, but some emotional element kept me from loving it. I look forward to future books because I like the character, and the side characters have a ton of potential, and a lot of people love the series.  Either my mental state will change or the story gets better.  I am hoping for both!  🙂  It is action-packed and a bit twisty with who is doing what and why, keeping you guessing.

Also, I really like the desert setting, not too many books I read are set out there.  Ever since I read The Wood Wife by Terri Windling I have been obsessed with finding another book in a desert setting because it really made me see the beauty and paranormal creatures based there (if you like fantasy in a modern setting check it out).  Hounded doesn’t focus on desert paranormal but instead the fae find him despite the setting, but I am hopeful, since Hearne uses gods and characters from all pantheons that they will be represented soon.  This book you only hear Coyote laughing in the background.

Anyway, sorry about the tangent. It was a cute book and solid.  I give it 3.5 star shaped rubies in a necklace, gripped in the hand of a skeleton beneath the sea.  I will read the next one in the series.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – Hounded

  1. Cathy i says:

    Hmmm…loved “the wood wife”, so I’ll give it a try.

  2. carfor12 says:

    Wow! An Irish Wolfhound who he can mind-meld and talk to. This is a genre I have not been able to get into yet although I keep thinking if I read enough titles there might be one that will jump out at me and I will just have to read. Thank you for stopping by my blog: http://meandu-justthinking.blogspot.ca/

  3. diannegray says:

    I like the rubies gripped in the hand of a skeleton beneath the sea – LOL 😀 I really want to read a book written by you one day 😀

  4. Gwynn White says:

    Sounds like fun. This is one for the TBR.

  5. I hate to hear that something was missing but I actually love the sound of this one. So up my alley.

    • ocdreader says:

      I am actually pretty excited to get my hands on the next book, so I am thinking I was feeling kinda moody while reading. Not sure if it was all the books fault. *sheepish grin*

Don't be shy!

