Review – Bronze Gods

bronze godsBronze Gods (#1)

by A. A. Aguirre

I enjoyed this book and the relationships, but I had to work a bit to get into it.

It is sort of a steampunk, meaning they wear bowler hats and drive steamrun cars and there is thick world-building in the beginning with thin character build.  It was weird, we got a lot of background on the history of fae and man getting together, but I didn’t get when and where this story happened or how much later it was.  We are given a little bit and then you need to let things roll without fully understanding, so it felt like they purposefully withheld things, which was irritating to me instead of compelling.  But, steampunk generally has some crazy world and stuff like that, so I kept reading.  And I did enjoy the book and read it quickly, I just didn’t connect with the world all that much.

The characters are police investigators and we did get to know them a bit, and they did have some lovely sexual tension throughout the story which was quite fun especially since they weren’t very excited about it.  The bad guy is really bad and scary, the officers diligent and driven and the story off-kilter enough to keep you guessing.  The police work is even realistic with paperwork to be filed, research to be done and perps to run down.  Some might find the break in the action kinda slow.

As this is steampunk, even possibly in an alternate world, women aren’t meant to work or set off on their own devices, but one of the main characters is a policewoman, and the victims are young women who work as well.  Luckily it isn’t too heavy handed, but it is quite the theme.  The title, Bronze Gods, the gods of that world are called that, but otherwise the title has nothing to do with anything.  It is an exclamation like “Dear Lord!”.

Not sure where it is going, or what the main characters will be to each other as the series progresses but that is part of the fun. They are partners and they are quite enjoyable to read when they are a bit jealous or irritated with each other.  I enjoyed it, 3.5 mechanical stars, when aligned perfectly give off a magical charge that causes plants to grow and bloom, even in the winter time.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Steampunk, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review – Bronze Gods

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Yeah, you know how I feel about steampunk. lol.

  2. Ah, it annoys me so much when you cannot tell when and where the book takes place. I just spend an exuberant amount of time trying to figure it out, instead of reading the actual story.
    I have only read a few steampunk novels, and they can be a bit iffy at times, but I love the mechanics of it all, so I must say I am a fan. I think I shall have to read this novel, by the sounds of it 🙂
    P.s. My WordPress was playing up, so don’t be surprised when I show up as a new follower!

Don't be shy!

