Review – Beguiled Again

beguiled againBeguiled Again

by Patricia Burroughs

Super cute and fun contemporary romance!

This is a serious case of opposites attract. Cecilia is a hot mess, she has three kids, a dog and an unbalanced checkbook and when we meet her she has a bad case of the flu.  Oh, and she has been divorced for a few years.  While shopping she sees her high school flame, Jeff.  He never returned her feelings back then and she is mortified to run into him now.  He is an accountant, he is practical and has an orderly life.  Things happen.

This story was super fun because we get inside both Cecilia and Jeff’s thoughts so we know where each character is coming from.  The kids are a wild card with a responsible child and two younger siblings who are just like their mom.  Everything conspires to keep these two bumping into each other, cars, kids, flu, cuts etc. and only once did I think the coincidences were stretched a bit.  It was just freaking adorable.  Cecilia isn’t as messed up as she looks and Jeff is more messed up than he looks. It is just fun.  I was totally in the mood for something that wasn’t too involved or mucky and this was just light enough and just involved enough for Goldilocks to eat her porridge.  Not only that, but these characters were a bit older, had been through some stuff in life and were now finding some happiness.  Love that!  No 20 year old hot body in a cat suit, of course she is still described as being pretty hot…but whatevs.  🙂

If you enjoy a contemporary romance with some giggles, fighting of the falling in love, kids and unruly animals, some snark and som folks with some emotional issues finding happiness, look no further.  4 stars floating in a parrot’s dish, if he doesn’t like you, he flings them at you, be sure to duck!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Contemporary, Fiction, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Beguiled Again

  1. Gwynn White says:

    Just downloaded it off Amazon. Just what I’m in the mood for!

  2. diannegray says:

    This read sounds very entertaining! 😀

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    It does seem like a change up to recent contemp romances I have been reading. Sounds cute but the guy’s an accountant? Makes me think he is boring. I know, stupid prejudice.

  4. pooks says:

    Thanks so much! I’m thrilled you enjoyed it.

Don't be shy!

