Review – Alice in Zombieland

alice in zlandAlice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles, Bk 1)

by Gena Showalter

This YA goodie was a fun one.  Lots of high school drama and posturing, emotional “entire family is dead” drama but regardless of the title this is not a typical zombie book.  The zombies are more “if you are attuned, you will see them” type zombie ghosts.

But since I kind of knew that going in, I wasn’t as disappointed as I would have been and the snark and exageration from these characters cracked me up.  I loved her friend Kat who was the snarkiest of the snarks and I wish I had her as a friend growing up.  Though honestly it must be tiring to be that on point all the time.  And then there is the bad boy romantic interest.  He looks like he belongs to a fight club, kids give him a wide berth and rumors abound.

“He’d abducted me, trussed me up like a Thanksgiving turkey, hinted at secret things, promised to share what happened to him in the mornings, asked me out on a non-date, only to give me a big fat pile of nothing? Hello, mixed signals.  But okay, whatever. I had no need of him. I’d made plans before him, and I could make plans afer him.” (138)

It was pretty sexy for YA, though only kissing, talking about sex and wishing for more happened.  There were some parties and drinking and fighting.  It was kind of violent as they were trying to fight zombie ghost things.  Showalter’s zombies were interesting, kind of supernatural good vs evil with religious implications.  Not sure I fully fell for the concept as once I started thinking about it I was poking holes in the logic.  But, again this is YA and a paranormal high school romp where a girl learns to take care of herself, which is always good I think.

I recommend this if you enjoy YA, snarky high schoolers, hip bad boys, paranormal elements and a little fighting for survival stuff.  Also, you should be able to suspend your disbelief without tearing holes in the fabric of a book’s reality (I only say this because sometimes when I am in a certain mood I can’t read stuff like this or I get snarky…)  Anywho…3.5 star shaped clouds that portend the coming of a rainstorm which will wash away the tracks you made tromping through the forest looking for zombies while your grandparents thought you were tucked safely in bed.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review – Alice in Zombieland

  1. lipsyy says:

    This looks RIGHT up my alley! *Added*

  2. Cathy i says:

    Hmmmm, don’t know about this one!

  3. beckyday6 says:

    I keep seeing so many alterations of Alice in Wonderland lately! They all look great but I think I want to read the source material fist, lol. 🙂

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    Yes, Kat is awesome. She had me laughing all the time. And yeah, the zombies are something you have to get use to. I do like the change up though.

  5. Gwynn White says:

    I read the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and laughed like there was no tomorrow. Although I’m not a zombie girl I might check this out if it is as funny as you say.

    • ocdreader says:

      Well, P&P&Z is totally different because it is the story with zombies written in. This is a tenuous at best Alice story. MC is named Alice and there is another thing relating, and then you have to argue the relations 🙂 lol – BUT, if you like teen snark, and enjoy that type of dialogue and stuff, I think it is worth it to laugh at their audacity, if anything. You and Erin would probably enjoy

Don't be shy!

