Review – Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls, Bk 2)

awake at dawnAwake at Dawn (Shadow Falls, Bk 2)

by CC Hunter

I am in the mood for this type of book every once in a while, and when that mood hits I can devour one of these books so quickly I forget to do anything else.  There are spoilers for book one in the second to last sentence of this paragraph, so don’t read more if you don’t want to find a few things out.  I gave it 4 stars, it is YA brain crack.  I can dabble in brain crack, but I don’t get addicted, I have to string out my fixes.  This series contains a bunch of YA tropes, a love triangle, unknown DNA, summer camp/boarding school, dead parent, dangerous bad boy love interest vs good boy, virginal MC vs non-virginal boys etc. BUT it just doesn’t matter, it is so well done and super fun I eat these stories up.

Kylie doesn’t know who she is, but she is getting closer to finding out.  She is exploring her abilities and trusting herself and her intuition a bit more. She still is complaining about not knowing what her type is and who her peeps are (remember Percy Jackson and the cabins at camp half-blood? well in this book the paranormals segregate to their own kind at lunch)  Poor Kylie doesn’t know what she is, but she is working at figuring that out.  Her abilities are scary – she sees and helps ghosts among other things.  But she is loyal, brave and forgiving, she is also 16 and is sort of torn between two boys who both show an interest in her.  There are issues on both sides.

There is lots of action, some new ideas introduced, some new baddies and abilities.  There is some angst, but not too much, and there are magical growing boobs, which cracked me up.  Anywho, there is plenty to keep the mind on a book sugar buzz as you enjoy Kylie’s adventures with ghosts, vampires and her magical enhancements (lol).  I recommend this series to anyone who likes paranormal YA, where things are life or death for the characters, but don’t really feel like it as you read along.  Sure I was nervous a bit for them, but it is more rollercoaster nervous, where you feel scared but are rather hopeful and have reason to believe you will get off the ride unscathed.  4 stars, two sets of star-shaped “girls” in pink push up bras.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls, Bk 2)

  1. Cathy i says:

    Loved the review, especially the stars, have to read this one.

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I love it when I can lose myself in a book so much that everything else falls away. Such a treat!

    Thanks for the great review.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    LOL, YA brain crack. I stopped right there since I haven’t read book 1 but happy this one turned out good.

Don't be shy!

