Review – God Save the Queen

god save the queenGod Save the Queen (Immortal Empire, Bk 1)
by Kate Locke

I finished this book absolutely loving it.  It was tough to get into, but most steampunk type books are… a few people I know gave up and just couldn’t do it.  But it ended at probably a 4+ for me. If you like steampunk elements, vampires, werewolves, goblins and a “figure out who you are” mystery type, try this one. It is a little bit involved, but the world-building isn’t dumped on you. Queen V is a vampire and still around today. Because vamps don’t like too much change, folks still dress a bit like they did in the Victorian era. There aren’t any cool steampunk gadgets and I believe there is electricity, so there are only minor steampunk elements, mainly that the Victorian age never ended. Paranormals were created from too many plagues messing with our genes or something. But you have blue-bloods (vampires), half bloods and normal humans. Half bloods protect the noble (in all honesty it is kinda like Vampire Academy in that regard).

Our main character Xandra is a half blood and is part of the royal guard or something. But when her sister goes missing, she sniffs out huge life-altering, perspective changing stuff.  Life isn’t as well ordered as she thought.  Her beliefs are wonky, the people she knows and loves might not be who she thought they were.  There is a rebellion brewing. Revelations are made, sides taken, secrets ferreted out. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book!

Sorry, I got excited there.  But Xandra, while naive, is strong and rolls with the punches.  She keeps moving and even though she does a few things that weren’t too well thought out, she learns from her mistakes.  There is a little romance, which, after a bit takes second fiddle to the plot.  It is lovely, two strong people who back each other up when the occasion calls for it but I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop, because Xandra does not have an easy time of things in this book…

Anyway, there are also werewolves and goblins (who are blue-bloods that got overly plagued or something. Could you imagine, you think you are the cream of all that is wonderful in the world *cough* vampire *cough* and you have a kid that is even better with regards to powers and strength, but they have more than two sharp teeth, fur all over their body and look horrendous compared to you and your perfectness?)  I don’t remember how werewolves came about, but vampires rule the world and have for a while.  So there are class issues and power struggles.  All the good stuff to make people crazy enough to try to change things.

If you like this type of thing, I definitely say check it out.  But you have to be willing to give it some time.  It starts out slow.  4.5 stars spray painted on a building, goblin territory, you better scram if you know what is good for you.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Steampunk. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – God Save the Queen

  1. pooks says:

    This looks AWESOME!

  2. lipsyy says:

    I concur…looks amazing!

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Steampunk and a slow beginning. That likes my kryptonite. lol. But this book does sound amazing.

Don't be shy!

