Frivolous Fridays August 23rd

Happy Friday everyone!  I missed last Friday cause I had family coming into town and I usually get a little nutty before company.

I just wanted to share a couple of my favorite bookmarks.  Becky at Blog of a Bookaholic wrote a post about a found item in a used book and I thought it would be fun to show my favorite found bookmarks.  They were all found in used books or randomly here and there, am I a bookmark cleptomaniac? Maybe…don’t leave your favorites in old books or by themselves in public places if you don’t want me to pick them up then!

IMG_9117The frog sketch was in one of the first books I swapped. I love it because I wish I could draw that well.  The one on the right is a picture of a stone cat a neighbor of mine created when I lived in NY, she likes to send pictures in her letters.  The frog drawing is a little big, but perfect for hardcovers.  The cat has a slight curve and heavy paper so it works for all types of books.

IMG_9119The one on the left is my absolute favorite bookmark. It is made out of leather, so it is way too thick and heavy to use in a paperback, but perfect for a hardcover, and honestly, the picture cracks me up every time I look at it.  This is a personalized bookmark someone lost and left in a donated book at the Friends of the Library (I think).  Their friend/dad/husband took an awesome “rocking out” picture and now I covet this bookmark.  He makes me so happy to look at.  Because I love it so much I know I will lose it eventually, it is just the way of things. I hope whoever finds it in the future loves it as much as I do.  The other one seems to be a watercolor that someone cut up and made bookmarks out of. So lovely.  So I have been doodling and think I am going to make some of my own…I will post pictures if they don’t totally suck  🙂

IMG_9120The fabric one on the left was given to me (I think) and it is perfect because it is light and won’t slip out of a paperback and it reminds me of a flying carpet.  The one on the right is definitely a found bookmark and when you move it the lion roars.  So pretty and cool!  Someone was super sad when they realized that one was gone. I do love it, so hopefully that evens out the universe.

So do you have any favorite bookmarks?  Honestly, I don’t use these all that often. They get “lost” and stuck in random books or drawers and I end up using receipts, postcards, pictures, post-its etc.  What do you usually use to mark the page of an actually paper book?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Frivolous Fridays August 23rd

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I have to say I am with you on this one, I love the rocking out picture bookmark, he looks so happy! He makes me want to be super happy too. I wonder where it came from, I love trying to work out the stories behind things like that! The fabric one also made me think of a flying carpet and is so pretty. That kind o blue-ey teal hue has always been one of my favourite colours, there’s something so rich about it. 🙂

    I have two favourite bookmarks and even though I own so many these are the two I keep going back to. One is a small magnetic Me to You bookmark. (The brand that always has a grey bear with a blue nose on it.) I love magnetic bookmarks because they never fall out if a book is kicking around in your bag and I had that happen a few times with big books and I completely lost my place! It also makes it much less likely the book pages will be damaged. My second favourite is a white lace one and I like to use that when I am reading a classic because it feels like it came out of Austen’s lifetime! 😛

    There are a lot of beautiful metal bookmarks around that I love, but I tried them and every time they scuff, mark or break the pages so they are a no go for me.

    Thank you for the mention! Making your own bookmarks is an awesome idea. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      I have never tried the magnet bookmarks. I don’t know why, probably because I haven’t found one yet 🙂 lol. I will have to pick one up because I hate when my bookmark falls out – and it happens way too often!
      The bookmarks I am making I am going to laminate them, we will see…

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    So cute, love them. I have my favorite bookmark too but you are going to laugh at the reason it’s my fav. It’s because it’s plastic so it’s washable. I am such a germaphobe.

  3. Gwynn White says:

    I am a complete peasant . . . I use bits of loo paper or tissues! Whatever I can get my hands on. i just won’t bend a page. That is just unacceptable!

  4. That’s some pretty damned awesome bookmarks there. I’m very unimaginative in this regard and tend to use whatever is available – bit of paper, snip of string, dead stag beetle, etc. In my youth I was even – shudder – a page corner turner.

    Have you recovered from entertaining your nieces?

    • ocdreader says:

      fully recovered thank you! I keep finding random art projects in corners though. One of which looked like a painted tortilla?! lol
      I use lots of random markers as well. Probably because I put the bookmarks in safe drawers so I don’t lose them. I once used a band-aid (unused), sock (not sure) and pens and scissors. It all works when the book doesn’t travel far. 🙂

  5. I usually use kleenex :p

Don't be shy!

