Review – Poison Princess

poison princessPoison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles, Bk 1)

by Kresley Cole

YA Paranormal Dystopian with the cards of the tarot duking it out

Oh my gosh this book starts out so good!  A spider traps a fly, and she tells her story.  Evie is 16 and has been having visions like her grandmother before her.  These visions are end of the world type stuff and they land her in the looney bin for a bit.  She is out and going back to school when the book starts.  Yes!  Paranormal and end of days craziness.  Love it.  And I really like the cover, I want that skirt.

But her story is filled with teen minutia leading up to the “flash” or apocalypse.  Then, once that finally happens (we get a LOT of teen angst, fighting with the new kid, homework and friends and visions) it jumps ahead nearly 6 months in time.  The landscape is changed and Evie can’t hide at home any longer.  Honestly, there is too much detail before the story starts, maybe it will be important in later books, now it just lets you know why she and Jack fight – because basically they always fought.  But with the threat of apocalypse and the freakingly scary awesome first chapter I had to keep reading.

We have a bad boy introduced and he is really bad and pretty much a jerk.  Now, it can be argued that both he and Evie are reacting because they assume the other doesn’t understand them.  And that is quite true.  Every time Evie tries to say something Jackson misunderstands, unless they are in the middle of a kiss and that is because they aren’t talking.  So they fight.  He is trying to toughen her up because she is a freaking marshmallow.  She never can make a decision and it gets really old.  There are certain scenes and actions that show she does have a backbone in there somewhere, she does some hard core things, but there is SO MUCH that is frozen indecision.  So we have a wishy-washy heroine with hints of strength and a gorgeous, dangerous and let’s face it, horny 18 year old boy from the wrong side of the tracks.  Ok.  But he is a bully.  He is mean and you keep hoping that you see the softer side of him, but while you get hints (or I thought they were hints, maybe not) he is nothing but an ass bullying Evie into giving it up for him since she is the last girl on earth.  Seriously, he says this.

Anyway, I kept reading.  I wanted some end of world/paranormal action baby! And while we do get some from the freaky zombie mutants and the men that have survived, everyone wants any girl they can find to pass her around for sex (men really have one thing on their minds in this book) there is a lot of driving and waiting.  But there are a lot of visions and “I am a crazy person” too.  So the tension keeps ratcheting even after the end of the world as we know it.

I am interested in where Cole is going to take this story, because in book 2 I don’t think Evie will be narrating her story as that part got resolved by the end.  Also, there is a little twist we hear about near the end, so I think the pacing will speed up.  And, just now thinking about the premise, which is sort of a surprise, I am bit confused.  It just ultimately doesn’t make much sense, and I say this hopefully – YET.

So anyway, I couldn’t stop reading it, but found myself slightly annoyed as I zoomed along.  I wanted to complain talk to someone about it.  But since I was zipping by so quickly I didn’t get mired in any sandtraps or anything.  I do like A LOT of what we see here but just beware that there are a lot of pitfalls for those who get stuck in them easily.  3.5 javelin stars thrown at you as you run along the meadow, to normal folks it looks like lightening, don’t let them hit you!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Apocalyptic, Fiction, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Poison Princess

  1. Gwynn White says:

    it’s a long time since I heard complaining, I mean talking, about a book like this. I can understand why – the premise does sound amazing. I’m going to wait until you read and review book two before wetting my toes in this one, even though it sounds so intriguing.

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Hmm, even though you liked it in the end, it seems like a lot of frustrating stuff happens and I am so annoyed with being frustrated by books right now. I might hold off a bit with this book.

    • ocdreader says:

      Yea, it is funny, I was soooo excited to read this book that the excitement carried me along for quite some time…then I thought it was just me being weird when I started getting annoyed. Plus, she is a great writer so I enjoyed that part… Anyway, I would hold off too to see how the story goes.
      Bummer you are hitting a frustrating patch. I can’t wait to read another “I loved it” book review from you!!

Don't be shy!

