Review – The Missing

missingThe Missing (FBI Psychics, Bk 1)

by Shiloh Walker

A paranormal thriller romance, not sure how else to describe it.

Cullen and Taige (what kind of name is that?! do you know a Taige?) fell in love when they were young, during the summers.  Something makes them split up, but they never fell out of love with each other.  Taige is psychic and her visions compulsively send her out to help people who are about to drown or get kidnapped or get hurt in some way.  She can’t help everyone, but she will often find herself running to help someone and arriving just in time to save them.

Then time passes.  They have separate lives and now Taige works for the FBI as a psychic consultant on missing children cases.  Guess what, Cullen’s daughter is kidnapped and he goes to Taige to get help finding her.  They have some unresolved issues, still love each other and need to find the girl before a serial killer ends her.

It was good. It was a little tense, though the rescue is sadly lacking in much action, the take down finale was pretty good though.  There is tension for the job and scary serial killer possiblities and ghosts who are needing help and visions and I loved those parts.  But this is also a romance and we get the requisite sex scenes which for me were too much for this type of book maybe?  I don’t know.  Anyway, there is adult angst and stuff, some working together, a jerky of a psychic wrangler boss, near death stuff.  Fantastic.  The romance part is nice and emotional but I think I would have prefered not knowing everything.  It was good though, I am going to read the next one, The Departed, because I promised someone I would send it to them and this one was easy, tense and enjoyable.  3 stars reaching out for help, run down the beach and rescue them before they drown!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Romance, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – The Missing

  1. Cathy i says:

    I liked the book, and really forgot about the sex scenes till you mentioned them, yes, they were so over the top, just not necessary for the story. Made the book faster to read, I skipped over them after the first thirty!!!!

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Based on your review, Paranormal Thriller Romance is a perfect description. I love serial killer books, and the romance on the side is nice.

  3. This sounds like a pretty good book, and I think I may have to check it out.
    I like the sound of a psychic FBI agent; it kind of sounds like a mix between Meg Cabot’s Mediator series and Veronica Mars, haha. Which makes me think I would like it 😀

  4. Pingback: REVIEW FOR “THROUGH THE VIEL” BY SHILOH WALKER | Book Junkiez

Don't be shy!

