Review – Joy for Beginners

joy for beginnersJoy for Beginners

by Erica Bauermeister

Need a little inspiration for life?  Need beautiful and descriptive writing?  Or a story about people who find their balance after life has thrown them off-kilter?  This is the story for you.  I loved her first book, School of Essential Ingredients and was worried this book wouldn’t deliver, but it does.

It is basically a story about 5 or 6 women who rally around each other when life throws a little crazy their way.  Twins, cancer, divorce – you know, crazy stuff.  Anyway, when one of them survives cancer she is told she needs to do something she is scared to do.  Because she is given this life task, she says will do hers if she can hand out tasks for the other ladies as well.  Of course everyone needs what they are forced to do and it is feel good all around, even if it is tough for them to do what is asked of them.

I want to know how Bauermeister became such a thoughtful life sherpa.  Anyway.

“Irreversible decisions are good for the soul, word lady.” (pg 172)

Basically, doing something hard is good for you.  If you are avoiding something you need to do, ask yourself why.  Maybe you need to man-up and get it done.  If it takes a little guilting by friends, then so be it.  But life is about growth and trying new things, even if they are scary.  I don’t know why one of them didn’t have to start a blog, express opinions that are normally hard for them to express so she can learn and write and make new friends doing it.  I mean, come on!  🙂

So, while not all of the things the women have to do are that crazy or life-altering, they are interesting and make you think.  These types of books are fun to throw into the mix every once in a while, they feel less cheesy that way.  I really enjoyed it and read it in one day.  4 stars hidden in the garden, you will find them and get to enjoy them once you stop hiding from life and clean up the ivy!!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Contemporary, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review – Joy for Beginners

  1. Gwynn White says:

    I still have School Of Essential Ingredients on my Goodreads TBR. Looks like I need to add this to – and then read them. Great review, and yes, I agree, blogging would be the real toughie!

Don't be shy!

