Review – The Departed

departedThe Departed (FBI Psychics, Bk 2)

by Shiloh Walker, January 2012

Parnormal romance between psychics.  They look for missing children and deal with serial killers.  It is both tense and dramatic with the case as well as the falling in love part.  The main characters were introduced in The Missing and what is super fun, is that the main guy is the jerk boss from that book.  Oh how wonderful it was to see the cold, all work and no play boss follow his emotions.  Also interesting to find out why he is the way he is…

This book kept me reading, I will give it that.  The relationship (sex) starts out early, but then there is drama, kind of like the last book, and issues and then the case brings them back together.  The case is good because there are some twists and a couple of main points and people involved.  It is also interesting because it takes place in a small town.  So we see some characters come and go within the drama.  It is pretty evenly balanced between romance and thriller/mystery which still is a little weird for me.  So I find I kind of skim the sex/emotion stuff to findo out more about the mystery.  In fact, the characters get so emotional and unbalanced that the scenes felt a bit crazy too, kind of unbalanced as well.  They were fine, safe and then they freak out for nearly no reason. I saw the tension they were dealing with but I guess when people who don’t normally “let go” and finally do, have a hard time reigning emotion in again.

So it is good though it is also a bit uneven feeling for me.  I do like mystery/thrillers and I love paranormal with some romance so you would think this would be a perfect blend for me, and mostly it is.  I liked this one a little bit more than the last book because there was more tension and the bad guy was a bit more difficult to take down.  The intricacies were great and there was a twist which I didn’t see coming till it hit me.  I will probably continue with this series at some point.  I have requested them from my swap site, but it will take a while to get them and that is fine.  3.5 stars above a field of yellow daisies covering a hidden grave.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – The Departed

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    I love when books are a mix of genres. But you skimmed the sex??? No!! lol

  2. Pingback: REVIEW FOR “THROUGH THE VIEL” BY SHILOH WALKER | Book Junkiez

Don't be shy!

