Tour Review – Four ‘Til Late 9/23

FourTilLate_CoverFour ‘Til Late – Tomorrow Comes Book Tour 

by Eric Garrison

Book received free for an honest review.

A paranormal, sort of tense yet at times kinda campy roadtrip story.

It is funny, this book started out kind of silly and easy going, I thought it would be a paranormal light, with ghosts and crazy things happening on this road trip with guys named Gonzo and Jimbo and Brett.  (one of these things is not like the other…)  I think the cover also led me to thing that it would be more of a scooby doo-type of story.  They even drive a van they dub “soccer mom”.

Anyway, it starts out that way.  The guys have known each other a long time, there is history there.  They see some strange things, make fun of each other and drive, drive, drive.  They are going to New Orleans for a few days, are going to pick up Brett’s ex-girlfriend and Jimbo’s girlfriend keeps calling and harassing him for leaving her behind.

FourTilLate_Interior1But it isn’t long before the things they see begin interacting with them and a very real possibility emerges that these ghosts aren’t entirely friendly.  In fact, one of the characters seems to be the main target and the results can easily become deadly.  So it gets pretty serious, while surrounded with a little bit of crazy.  So since that little bit of bizarre is there, you are pretty sure things will never go south…pretty sure anyway.  I was a bit upset that things could get deadly, but it was a super fun read. The characters have a great comraderie, the eerie bits are explained, and the paranormal fits within our mundane world.  Makes it a bit freakier because there are reasons for this stuff that work in our world.  Creepy yet charming in a way!

Anyway, a fun easy paranormal kind of horror story and I just read that a second story with the same characters is in the works, fun!  Enjoyable and and well written with an interesting take on some paranormal goings on and it never loses its sense of humor, it just starts offering more serious consequences.  3.5 stars of ghostly fog that try to lead you astray into the middle of a cornfield.

EricGarrisonTourBadge-smallerAbout the Author: Eric Garrison is active in the writing community in Indianapolis, Indiana. He lives in the Circle City with his wife, step-daughter and four cats. He also enjoys gaming and homebrewing beer.

Seventh Star Press published the first of his Road Ghosts trilogy, Four ’til Late, in July of 2013. The other two are expected to come out later in 2013.

Eric’s novel, Reality Check, is a science fiction adventure released by Hydra Publications. This book reached #1 in Science Fiction on Amazon’s Kindle store during a promotion in July 2013.

Eric’s short story, “Drag Show” appeared in the Fall 2011 edition of Strange, Weird and Wonderful Magazine and Volume 2 of that magazine’s anthology series. His flash piece, “Dark Reflection”, appeared in the Indiana Horror 2011 anthology. He’s competed twice in the Iron Writer Challenge with two 500-word flash pieces, “Killer Cure” and “Moby Me”.

Author Links:

Blog: http://ericgarrison.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EricGarrisonAuthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1978111.Eric_Garrison

Twitter: https://twitter.com/erichris

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Tomorrow Comes Book Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tour Review – Four ‘Til Late 9/23

  1. Pingback: Four ’til Late review by Ocdreader | Eric Garrison

  2. I’m in the middle of reading it and I’m enjoying it a lot! Good review, kudos Eric!

  3. Thank you for the review of Four ‘Til Late! 🙂

  4. Jorie says:

    Good afternoon, I must say, I was a bit curious about this one, and I am thankful to read that its not quite as cosy-light as it appears, yet, it does sound as though the author is giving the reader something to chew on! As towards knowing the truth behind why one of the blokes on the road-trip is being singled out! I oft wondered about that, if there is a deeper meaning behind certain events or experiences, if your akin to accepting the paranormal in our own reality. You wrote a bit more in generalities, which leaves it a bit nebulous to ascertain the thematics, but I am presuming you did that so that each reader can discover the secrets of the book without being clued in ahead of time. In this you have succeeded to keep the suspense in tact! Thanks for the insight!

    • ericgarrison says:

      As the author of the book, I appreciated the clarification of the book’s theme and genre, and also the reviewer’s restraint so as not to give away spoilers!

  5. jenniferbielman says:

    Hmmm, this one is interesting. The cover turns me off. Not sure if this one is for me. Happy you liked it though.

    • ocdreader says:

      Because of the cover I thought it would be sillier! Ah well

      • ericgarrison says:

        Bonnie is a great artist. If there’s a disconnect, it’s my fault as the author. I wanted her to convey the feeling of a buddy road trip with supernatural scares and a sense of humor. I thought she did a great job, but I have the advantage of knowing the story *before* looking at the cover.

  6. Gwynn White says:

    I am intrigued as to how he writes paranormal with explanations that work in the mundane world. I might just read it to get the answers. Glad you enjoyed it. But I agree, the cover really does not set up a serious book with deathly consequences.

Don't be shy!

