Review – The Trouble with Demons

trouble with demonsThe Trouble with Demons (Raine Benares, Bk 3)

by Lisa Shearin

I am on a mission to read this series this year!  For one so I can remember who is who between books and two, to check it off the list and the shelves.  🙂  They are definitely easier to read if you have recently finished the last one.  I am starting to remember names – yea!

So only another week has passed since the last book and now demons are pouring into the city.  Someone has opened a Hellgate and the bad guy, of course, wants Raine to die so he can bond with the soul-sucking power rock.  Plus the demons want something, their king’s soul was sucked into the rock over 900 years ago and now they want to mount a rescue.  Crazy times.

Raine is funny, her love interests are convoluted and there is emotion there and occasional moments but nothing more in the romance arena.  There is business to attend to, so romance takes a back seat, though the triangle is more pronounced in this book.  I seriously have no idea who she will end up with, if anyone.  But more and more little moments are happening and it makes it sweet and interesting.  Both men are awesome, though a bit “good” vs “bad” magic.  I think they even are blond vs dark-haired but I am not totally sure.  But it isn’t really written obviously like that, so I guess it is ok to be a bit cliche.

Raine has a lot of enemies and isn’t sure who to trust.  Her powers are showing themselves more and more and scare the other powerful mages, as well as Raine herself.  You get to know her and her family a little bit more and things are dangerous.  The perfect setting to make you read obsessively until you finish the story.  I am really enjoying this little fantasy series and can’t wait to read the next one.  4 stars floating above the demon queen’s head, try to catch one and sock her in the face, cat fight with a demon!!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – The Trouble with Demons

  1. I so prefer reading series back to back. So much more fun cause everything is fresh. Happy this was a good one for you.

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW FOR “TOUCH OF THE DEMON” BY DIANA ROWLAND | Book Junkiez

Don't be shy!

