Tour Review – Michael West Sept 30th

WideGameCover-FinalThe Wide Game – Tomorrow Comes Book Tour stop

by Michael West

I received this book free for an honest review.

What a way to start off October scary reads month!  Four Til Late with a scary road trip primed the pumps and The Wide Game delivered some freaky deaky scary times.  Holy crud.  Cornfields, death of high school students and high school reunions?!  SCARY! And, the first chapter was intense and sucks you into the depths of hell.  Then we get a lot of background. I love that.

The Wide Game Book Synopsis:  On the advice of his wife, Paul Rice is making plans to attend his 10th year High School reunion. Returning to his boyhood home of Harmony, Indiana, he finds that he is still haunted by memories of that time-memories of Deidra, his first love, and memories of the Wide Game. It was ten years ago that Paul and his friends watched their day of fun become a race for their lives, a fight for their very souls.

Now, as he meets the survivors of that day once more, Paul makes a chilling discovery: the incomprehensible forces that toyed with them have yet to finish playing their own game.

The Wide Game is one of the Harmony, Indiana horror novels from Michael West, which also include Cinema of Shadows and Spook House.

Review:

Something terrible is happening during a game high schoolers play on Senior Ditch Day.  In the corn fields, 10 years ago, but the game never ended.

This book pulled me in right away.  Tense, scary, bloody and horrifying.  It did take me a while to figure out that we start out present day, then go back in time and play the game.  For a while I thought we flipped into back and forth to present day a few times but that doesn’t seem to be the case.  You need to understand the past to appreciate the present, but there are so many characters I would get a little lost when things happened.  AND because I read an electronic copy I couldn’t employ my handy dandy “flip back and forth til I understand who is who strategy”.

There are twists and turns, bunches of crows and some Indian mythology at play.  The tension disappears then ratchets up to twist you into knots before the guillotine falls.  No, there isn’t a guillotine, but you get the idea.  It freaked me out but good while reading at night when everyone else was asleep.  I didn’t get too emotionally invested in the characters except for the main pair, there wasn’t much time in order to keep up with the plot and there are a bunch of them, but the story and descriptive language keep you reading.  You lose characters.  Things happen.

I haven’t read a ton of pure horror without zombies, but I am going to check out West’s other books at some point.  4 black stars sitting amongst a murder of crows, staring at you quietly as you walk by.

MichaelWestAuthorPhotoAbout Michael West:  Michael West is the critically-acclaimed author of The Wide Game, Cinema of Shadows, Spook House, Skull Full of Kisses, and the Legacy of the Gods series.  A graduate of Indiana University, with a degree in Telecommunications and Film Theory,  West has written a multitude of short stories, articles, and reviews for various on-line and print publications.  He lives and works in the Indianapolis area with his wife, their two children, their bird, Rodan, their turtle, Gamera, and their dog, King Seesar.

His children are convinced that spirits move through the woods near their home.

Website:  http://www.bymichaelwest.com

Twitter: @bymichaelwest

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Horror, Tomorrow Comes Book Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tour Review – Michael West Sept 30th

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Woo Hoo, That cover just scares me, I can’t imagine how I would get through the book. lol

Don't be shy!

