Tour Review – Chronicles of Ave

ChroniclesOfAve1200X800Chronicles of Ave, Volume 1 – Tomorrow Comes Book Tour

by Stephen Zimmer

Book Synopsis:  Escape into the wonders of Ave in this first collection of short stories featuring the fantastical world from the Fires in Eden Series by Stephen Zimmer.

A world of wonder beckons to be explored and fantasy enthusiasts are invited along for the journey in these half-dozen stories from the world of Ave!

Also be sure to take further adventures in Ave in the Fires in Eden Series, beginning with Crown of Vengeance, Book One!

Ah, high/epic fantasy, how I love yet find you difficult to pick up.  I have a hard time getting into fantasy stories, because there is so much worldbuilding and tons of names!  Well this grouping of short stories gives you the backgrounds of what I think will be legendary figures in Zimmer’s Ave books.  The lovely thing is that while you do get some background to set the scene, you get to the action a lot faster.   I was full engaged and even shed a few tears in more than one story, dang it.

There are a lot of battles, some dragons, witches and wizards (good ones and bad ones), demons and young love.  Man!  If you are only into happy endings, these stories are bittersweet. These are the forging of steel stories that the legends must endure to become the heroes they are meant to be.  Sooooo, no HEAs really here.  But there is wonderfully descriptive and visual language, heroes with heart and courage of conviction and true love.  These stories occasionally feel like alternate histories, but are events all their own.  I really enjoyed them and look forward to checking out the Fires of Eden series, they piqued my curiosity about Ave, its peoples and belief systems.  In fact, if I had read those stories already I am sure I would have loved these stories even more for the information that fills the nooks and crannies of that world.  I give this grouping of short stories 4 stars of teeth in the mouth of a large cat, one bite can crush your skull, be wary of the large predators!

About Stephen Zimmer: Stephen Zimmer is an award-winning author of speculative fiction, whose works include the Fires in Eden Series (Epic Fantasy), the Rising Dawn Saga (epic-scale Urban Fantasy), the Harvey and Solomon tales (Steampunk), the Hellscapes tales (Horror), and the Rayden Valkyrie tales (Sword and Sorcery).

He is also a writer-director in moviemaking, with feature and short film credits such as Shadows Light, The Sirens, and Swordbearer.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/AuthorFilmmaker-Stephen-Zimmer/221620254562078

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sgzimmer

Website: http://www.stephenzimmer.com

Blog: http://stephenzimmer.blogspot.com

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Tomorrow Comes Book Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tour Review – Chronicles of Ave

  1. Great review and glad you liked it 🙂

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I feel the exact way about fantasy. This one does sounder interesting but bittersweet endings scare me.

Don't be shy!

