Review – Plague Nation

plague nationPlague Nation (Ashley Parker, Bk 2)

by Dana Fredsti

I am on a horror kick.  I both blame and thank Seven Star Press and the tour books I myself, chose to read.  Wow, this is a good zombie book, but it is sooooo gross and difficult from the very beginning.  Woosh.  I don’t feel so good.  But I enjoyed it so much, I couldn’t stop reading.  Maybe like a rollercoaster?  I can’t stop riding those either, even if I feel like I am going to lose my lunch.

The plague has been contained in Redwood Grove but the Walker flu is going national.  Ash and the other Wild Cards (zombie virus amplifies their abilities, they don’t turn to the walking dead) are helping finish cleaning up the town when reports come in about other areas.  They need to stop things quickly.  A lot of sad things happen.  Some political things, a conspiracy maybe and lots of goo and viscera.  Blergh.

Ashley and her team are hilarious, they find humor in the darkest of times and have to, in order to maintain a semblance of sanity.  There are tons of movie quotes and pop culture mentioned, I got some of it. Like this one.

Nathan’s words were starting to blend into blah blahblah ammo.  Blahblahblahsplooshy blood and gore. At this point, I was ready to stand up and go all Vasquez with, “Look man. I only need to know one thing…”

Ashley is awesome. She is hilarious, tries her best, loves a ton and kicks zombie booty.  What isn’t to love?  Seriously, this is a hard core zombie book, but funny and lighthearted in a way and at times.  But it is also psychologically enlightening.  If you have read previous zombie reviews by me you know that I like seeing how people react to situations like these, where they have to kill what used to be people to survive.  Ashley worries about her team’s emotions, what they are dealing with and how to get through to them.  I find that interesting.  We also get a couple of new characters, who are entertaining, whether they are good or bad, I am not sure what they are actually.  I can’t wait for the next book!

Ashley does have a love interest who has an interesting zombie issue.  She is immune to the virus, he has another issue you can find out on your own if you read this.  So they have to move out of their little town and into a big city.  Pandemonium and lots of big city zombie hunting ensues.  But, while the first book could stand alone except for some hints at the end that the flu is spreading, this book leaves it pretty obvious that the next book is needed to complete the story.  So I really cannot wait for Plague World!  4 rotting stars, crawling after you.  Keep ahead of them, they just might bite.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Horror, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Plague Nation

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    So happy you loved this book as much as me. I agree, I love the humor these characters find in the dark times. It’s what makes this series so awesome for me.

    I am nervous for the love interest though. That’s not a fun situation as all.

Don't be shy!

