Review – Cinder

cinderCinder (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 1)

by Marissa Meyer

This book sucked me in right away.  I love that it is the fairy tale, but in a dystopian, plague-filled setting, super bleak and it made me breathless.  I know you are thinking, “what? Come on, it is Cinderella, she is gonna end up with the prince…that is what happens.”  But, things are tough, there is disease and scary stuff.  Big problems.  It made me wonder what else Meyer was going to change.  Besides, it is the journey that makes Elisa read the story, or the characters, or something like that, right?

So, this is a Cinderella story and I always have a really hard time with one aspect of that story.  Her family, the only family she has ever know really doesn’t like her.  There is usually one sister who is her only friend but the others are really awful.  And it kills me every time poor Cinderella realizes this.  I had to keep putting the book down cause I was sad for her.  I kept thinking of the movie Ever After when Drew Barrymore is crying at Angelica Houston, “was there a time, however small when you loved me?  [because] You are the only mother I have every known.”  And Angelica responds with something like, “how can one love a pebble in one’s shoe?”  Ugh, it guts me!  Sooo, towards the end while that is going down and leading up to the ball I had to keep putting the book down so I could relax a little.  It is funny, I built it up more in my head than the book followed through with, but it still ate me up inside.  To be clear, that is my own issues with the basic story, not necessarily the things the book stirred up.  I read a review where someone else was bored with this whole part.  So you never know.

Cinder is a perfect Cinderella.  She has her set-up stuff needed to be her, and why she is a burden to the family, but she is also smart, caring, accepting and a hard worker.

Anyway, you should know this is the start to a four book series so it ends with a bit of a cliffhanger or a pause in action, simply because there is more to the story and there is a lot going on.  The world is rich and we have more to find out.  War is coming and the next book, Scarlet pulls in Little Red Riding Hood and the wolf, so that should be crazy good fun too, I am looking forward to it.  4 fairy tale stars to wish upon, streaking across the black canvas of night.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Dystopia, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review – Cinder

  1. bibliobeth says:

    Sounds good! I’m reading this one soon, looking forward to it 🙂

  2. monkeyfacekim says:

    This ones been on my to-read list for a while, it sounds good. I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  3. beckyday6 says:

    I LOVE Ever After, I have watched it so many times! Glad you enjoyed Cinder. I’m still unsure whether I will pick this one up.. nice review. 🙂

  4. Sounds like a fun read. I’m almost done with The Book of Lost Things which reworks some of the well known fairy tales and that was interesting to see, how an author takes something we all know and makes it his own.

Don't be shy!

