Review – Hammered (Iron Druid 3)

hammeredHammered (Iron Druid, Bk 3)

by Kevin Hearne

Atticus picks a fight with the Norse gods this time around.  Big things are happening because he is trying to help his friends and pay his debts.  It is pivotal because change will happen because of his actions, is already happening and the fallout will not be pretty.

But ultimately it is a light urban fantasy/paranormal romp, filled with pop culture references like Kill Bill, Danny Elfman, discussions about who makes the best scary movie music and a little fan humor about meeting favorite authors.  Pretty funny stuff Mr Hearne.  I definitely enjoy that.  It is juxtaposed with gods, big and small, well known and not.  I LOVE that Atticus hangs with certain ones, and others are pompous jerks.  Funny.

Because Atticus needs to run over to the Norse plane, his normal side-kicks aren’t much in this book.  Oberon has a few funny lines but mostly we get to know some new characters as they travel to mess with Thor.  Atticus is a stand-up Druid who follows through on his word.  The world of the gods is messy with so many who cross and double-cross each other.  And when you are a near-immortal being, you can either piss off a lot of folks or hold a long, long grudge.  Because of that we have the goings on that occur this time around.

This series is still super fun, funny, ridiculous and irreverent.  Big changes need to happen and Atticus is on the run because of what happens.  We will see how far or how fast he needs to get and what new characters we might get introduced to because of these changes.  I am looking forward to the next book, Tricked.  4 nuts growing on Yggdrasil, the world tree, so high up and shiny they look like stars, until Ratatosk (I think that was the squirrel’s name) grabs them for his supper.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Hammered (Iron Druid 3)

  1. Cathy i says:

    I really liked this book, need to read my mythology now.

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I like that this one has humor. I appeals to me.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Love the sound of this one. I don’t know why but I love when books have pop culture references. I mean, I squeal over them, lol

Don't be shy!

