Review – Generation V

generation vGeneration V (American Vampire, Bk 1)

by M.L. Brennan

Purchased

This was a fun little vampire romp with a male protag and a new vamp mythos. Pretty fun and interesting.  Plus I loved the scampy trickster kitsune side-kick.  She freaking rocked.  Fortitude, our main vampire hero was a little too emo, and had his all too human reason for doing what he was doing, but for a while you kind of wonder why he does what he does.  Honestly, he really goes above and beyond.

But, there is a new way to make vampires in this book.  Which is pretty cool.  There are all sorts of paranormals running around NY and I want to hear more about them so I am going to check out the next book.  Also, Fortitude seems different than his family and I am wondering where Brennan is planning on taking that later in the series.

The storyline is ok.  You kind of wonder why things go the way they do for a while though.  But the characters are great.  The story fleshes itself out and reasons do make sense.  I definitely enjoyed the quirks, the humor and what was pretty much a coming of age vampire story.  I will pick up the next book.

Because of the kitsune characters, I give it four+ foxy stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Generation V

  1. Cathy i says:

    Yes, loved this one also! Very interesting way of creating new vamps, great twist. Review was great

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Ooh, this does sound like a fun new vamp book. I love reading other authors’ take on vamps.

Don't be shy!

