Frivolous Fridays 11/22

Happy Friday! I am super jazzed and stressed today because I leave super early in the morning for a week-long vacation in NY to visit family for the Thanksgiving holiday.  Yay!

But, today I wanted to talk about something extremely frivolous because I am reading a book where a girl has a protector that is a human smart and super strong “animal” that doesn’t exist in our real world.  Of course she looks down on him because he is dirty and dog-like, but he is saving her booty and she would have died many times already if it weren’t for him.  I have also been reading those Iron Druid books which are filled with different pantheons of gods, he fights Thor and Odin’s ravens and befriends a giant squirrel who carries him up the Norse tree.  My mind is filled with the fantastic.  So on my way to work, I started wondering what type of mythological creature I would want or choose to be friends with…

pegasusMy first thought was Pegasus because who wouldn’t want to be friends with a flying horse?  I mean come on, besides being able to turn into a mermaid my childhood dream was to be able to ride Pegasus.  Perseus was able to be the hero he was only because Pegasus flew his booty around.

But then to be completely different and because Clash of the Titans (with Harry Hamlin) obviously warped shaped my childhood view of mythology, I started wondering what it would be like to be friends with Medusa.  Seriously!  She would have to be a pen pal or facebook buddy or something because it could be a bit dangerous to sit on the couch chatting while drinking wine.  OR, if medusayou ticked her off, I don’t think she would fight very fair as her form of revenge is quite permanent.  But her take on life could be pretty dang interesting in lucid moments.

So what about you?  Which mythological hero, monster or creature would you want to hang with or know how to summon?  Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  🙂

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frivolous Fridays 11/22

  1. I wouldn’t mind being mates with the Terminator. He doesn’t feel emotion and wouldn’t ever tell me to be quiet if I said a really bad joke in the middle of a busy train journey.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Chatting with Medusa over wine, ha! I love it. 😀

    I have always wanted to meet a dragon and become a dragon rider myself. Hopefully not Smaug though, he has a temper! 😛

    • ocdreader says:

      Dragon rider would be pretty dang cool! I love those Anne McCaffrey books, Dragonriders of Pern – I think Eragon had the same type of dragon and rider bond too.

Don't be shy!

