Review – Parasite (Parasitology #1)

parasiteParasite (Parasitology #1)

by Mira Grant (publishing October 2013)

Advanced copy obtained through NetGalley for an honest review.

I loved the Newsflesh trilogy, well technically I haven’t read the third one yet, but I loved them, the characters the world and the horror of it.  The start to this new trilogy gives us the background, a conspiracy and some pretty horrible things happening.  Mira Grant/Seanan McGuire does her homework and creates credible enough science to lead you down a wacky future path where you can easily suspend your disbelief and see it as a possibility.  She is a rock star as far as I am concerned, but I like science mixed with my fiction, so I find her books fascinating.

By the way, I couldn’t read this book, especially the middle to end parts right before bed. I would sit there and think about parasites and scary things too much, just saying.

There are some minor inconsistencies with Nathan and his family – I got a little confused with the emotional parts because there were conflicting things (but that is family, right?), as well as Sally and her parents. When she goes to work with Dad it gets way weird, and Sally is an enigma, emotional, childlike, withdrawn yet helpful until she doesn’t feel like it anymore. Tough to read because you think she is growing, but then she doesn’t, but then she does again.  I had to keep putting the book down to read something else to calm myself down. It was scary and yucky and upsetting once you get into the meat of the story.  But initially you have a lot of background and world-building to get through.  Not that it is an onerous task, but you don’t know much and enjoy following Sally while things are explained and are slowly meted out.  You learn with her.  Though you do understand things before she does.

So, it isn’t for everyone.  If you don’t like getting through some science, though it isn’t thick science, or checking out the psychology of some key players, it might be too much information for you.  But if you like that stuff, there is some really good story in there along with the details. The other favorite thing of mine is that Grant starts each chapter with an excerpt from an interview, or private memoirs to give the reader some of the background and personality of the key players.  As the story progresses, you get more of the information and see the duplicity or honesty of those characters. I love how those tidbits are slowly meted out so the full picture of the landscape and world fleshes out slowly with the growing horror of the story.  I can’t wait for the next story to see where it goes!  4.5 stars filled with pills, each pill has a tapeworm just waiting to make itself at home in your intestine to keep you healthy.

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Horror, Paranormal, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Parasite (Parasitology #1)

  1. Ugh, I had to DNF this one. The science and thick info was too much for me and I was so bored. I stopped 35% in. Should I have kept reading and toughed through it?

    • ocdreader says:

      that is a tough question! hmmm, I love all that science stuff and how the break down plays out. So I was riveted the whole time. Once the bigger action hit I was rolling with the story so it was all great. I would wait and see if the other two parts of the trilogy end up so action packed and amazing you have to get through this one to get there. 🙂

Don't be shy!

