Review – Fated

fatedFated (Alex Verus, Bk 1)

by Benedict Jacka

purchased

I found a new series to read!  Yay (not as though that is a problem for me) but I am excited because Alex lives in England, he is a wizard of middling to lower magical power (he is a seer, not a blow-em up battle mage) and he wants to stay out of wizard politics.  Like Harry Dresden, who is given a minor unnamed shout out at the beginning of the story, he has an impossible time of that and is sucked in by multiple factions.

Alex has a friend, Luna who is an interesting character who ends up involved right along with him.  Luna has a crazy issue which has kept her from making too many friends, so she and Alex make quite a pair dealing with their unresolved childhood/life issues.  But it makes for some great emotions.

There are some other side characters that were pretty dang good and I hope to see more of them in future books.  The politics are limited, but people are looking for power at any cost so you learn a bit about the powers that be, but folks are trying to work around them.  These players don’t play fair and you really don’t know who is legit and who is working for themselves.  Alex has a LOT of people to work around and and with, somehow “promising” to work with all sorts of factions, as most of them don’t take “no” for an answer.  It is pretty dang enjoyable to see how he wiggles his way out of things.

This is a promising start to a fun new series, I look forward to reading the next book.  I really like that the characters, besides Alex, all have unknown agendas.  You just don’t know who to trust and there is a feeling that people you trust today might not be in your court tomorrow (and vice versa).  It promises a pretty wild ride.  3.5-4 identical stars, one is a key.  Choose wisely because if you pick the wrong one, you will die.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Fated

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    I totally thought of Dresden when I saw this. happy you found a new series. I don’t have great luck with wizard books though.

Don't be shy!

