Review – A Witch’s Handbook of Kisses and Curses

witches handbookA Witch’s Handbook of Kisses and Curses (Half Moon Hollow, Bk 2)

by Molly Harper

I read the first book in the Half-Moon Hollow series but can’t remember much of it or the names of anyone, but that is ok.  Because it seems like you really get more of the players from the “Nice Girls” series, which I haven’t read and really wish I had because you get little tidbits about most everyone – and I think it would have been funnier if I knew them better.  Sooo, I will go back after the fact and get my hands on that series.  Don’t get me wrong, this book is still quite enjoyable, I just want to know the gossip about Jane and everyone.

Anyway, Nola is a witch and has been sent by her Irish family to reclaim some artifacts called Elements from her grandfather’s old store, now owned by Nice Girl Jane Jameson.  She moves in next door to a hunky neighbor named Jed with a cute southern drawl.  She has to sift through all the wacky characters living in Half-Moon Hollow, KY, and possibly talk to her dead grandfather to find them.  She has a deadline, if it isn’t met there are magical problems.

It is full of humor, paranormal and normal folks with wacky issues and of course, North vs South mistakes, misunderstandings and jokes.

“Actually, I don’t believe ass pinching comes up in normal family discourse.”

“Well, your a Yankee. Who knows what y’all talk about.”

So it is cute, you kind of see where things are going, but enjoy the ride.  Parts of it were a little too easy and other parts pretty rough for Nola.  But ultimately it is a cute paranormal, an easy beach read type book.  There is a little romance with a couple of bedroom scenes but they are fairly quick compared to some other PR.  The book was enjoyable, it kept me reading and I laughed quite a bit.  Parts are outrageous and funny, but at times things were a little too pat so it isn’t my favorite Molly Harper book, but I will read the next one in this series!  3.5 stars hidden around the room like a Where’s Waldo picture, find them in 5 minutes for bragging rights.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – A Witch’s Handbook of Kisses and Curses

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Meh, not sure about this one. I am not doing good with witch books right now. Happy it was good for you though.

    • ocdreader says:

      I hear ya. It’s funny, I LOVE the werewolf books Harper writes, but the witch ones are ok. Easy to read, funny at times but just not as sparkly as those werewolf ones…I am hoping the vampire ones are the way to go next. 🙂

Don't be shy!

