Review – Forged in Dreams and Magick

forged in dreamsForged in Dreams and Magick (Highland Legends, Bk 1)

by Kat Bastion

Received from the author for an honest review

If anyone is into time travel and Scotland romance, you really need to pick this one up.  I know, you can’t believe there is a genre about that?  Well, I think there should be a sub-sub genre  🙂  For some reason you can find those alpha males who fight hard and love strong in the Scotland Highlands 1000 years ago.  You like alpha shapeshifters?  Next time, try a man in a kilt.

Anyway, Isobel is an archeologist and finds a strange box made out of various unknown metals.  She is taken on a journey back in time.  And finds her soul mate.

It is definitely a historical romance with lots of sexy scenes.  Sometimes that is the focus, but then we get back to the magic box and trying to figure out what the heck it does and why.  There are some pretty dang cool scenes and ideas, 13th Century Scotland and even the Romans fighting the Picts.  Crazy stuff with lots of lovely alpha men.  Isobel is a modern woman so she struggles with dealing with those alpha guys and sometimes I couldn’t believe she fell into the world so easily, but you gotta do what you gotta do to stay alive.  Those types aren’t too welcoming of anyone second guessing them, talking back, yelling…it is kind of funny.

Anyway, this book is a guilty pleasure.  The time traveling is a little paranormal-like and you get a few answers.  Some things are resolved, others are not.  Isobel is fiery.  Her soul mate is leader.  She learns to be an alpha’s mate as well as a leader in her own right.

There are some unanswered questions but this is book 1.  So I expect we will see more about why she is traveling through time. Also one huge issue was solved a bit easily, but it got her where I wanted her to end up anyway.  It was a bummer that her “I am female and you can’t control me” action brought this event about though.  Like I said, – guilty pleasure.  Just go along for the ride and enjoy.  Four redheaded stars wearing plaid, throwing around a big tree for bragging rights.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review – Forged in Dreams and Magick

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Yeah, you had me at time travel and Scotland romance. OMG, I straight up want this book bad now.

Don't be shy!

