Review – Year Zero

year zeroYear Zero

by Rob Reid

purchased

Hilarious, self-deprecating and ridiculous. Aliens have been pirating our music since the late 70s and owe us more money than anyone has ever had in all of time, ever, because of our crazy and paranoid piracy laws ($150,000 per song anyone?).  Things go crazy from there.

I was cracking up, shaking my head, confused and tickled while reading this crazy adventure.  You must like alien silliness, sciencey explanations, weird devices that do crazy things and clueless humans living off their wits.  Being able to laugh about the legal system will probably be a plus as well.

There were a few times where I got a little confused as to who was doing what and why, but if you keep trucking through things do become clear.  There are footnotes that add to the wackiness and a couple of scenes that have stuck with me as I write this a week later, stuff I didn’t laugh as much at while reading, but now think is hilarious.  I really enjoy that silliness that has layers of intelligence underneath along with the ability to laugh at our foibles and plain out dumbassedness.  I think I made that word up, but it totally fits, trust me.

I just have one major issue with one character – the cat.  I expected more.  Enough said.

But this was extremely diverting, kept me interested and made me chuckle and laugh and shake my head.  Reid is a wackadoo, and I mean that in the best way possible.  🙂  4 stars shaped like whatever you need them to be, they record, play back and are better at illusion than what the all powerful Oz used from behind the curtain.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Humor, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Year Zero

  1. Gwynn White says:

    Sounds fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    OMG, this does sound so silly. I am so there. I need a good laugh.

Don't be shy!

