Review – Will Grayson, Will Grayson

will graysonWill Grayson, Will Grayson

by John Green & David Levithan

purchased or swapped or something…

I picked this book up because I needed something with less stress because I was feeling horribly anxious.  Funny.  This book is filled with stress and teen angst and fights between friends yet, it wasn’t stressful (for me) to read.  I don’t know if it is because I have already been through all that high school drama or if I just can’t empathize that well with Green and Levithan’s intellectually sassy teen boys or what.  But it was an extremely enjoyable book to read.  However, I gave it to my mom and it didn’t grab her, so she simply handed it back.  The book made me laugh, shake my head and nearly head to the dictionary (dang smarty pants emo-goth-wrinkley jeaned kids).

This book is about acceptance of who you are (gay, straight, fat, thin, boy, girl etc), telling the truth and communication.  What is funny is that these kids are smart, but they don’t know how to communicate at all.  So book smarts does not equal knowing everything!  As a teen I thought I knew everything too – ha!  There is unrequited love, friends, young love and lots of smarty mouthed kids.  I enjoy that, the dialogue may make me feel dumb but they certainly make me snicker.

4 stars holding the chains for two swings, sit down and swing with me so we can fly through the air together while singing show tunes as loud as possible.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in YA. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review – Will Grayson, Will Grayson

  1. Gwynn White says:

    I’m busy reading The Fault in Our Stars. JG certainly likes overly smart teens! He writes well, though. I will check Will Grayson out now that I’m on JG binge.

  2. lipsyy says:

    I loved this book! You’ve made me want to read it again now.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Happy this was a good one for you but I do not need a stressful book right now. I am too stressed with life as it is.

  4. diannegray says:

    Not good to hear things are stressful for you, Elisa 😦 But it’s good to read something that will give you a lift. It’s interesting that your mom wasn’t impressed, but I guess that’s what makes life interesting – we’re all different 😀

  5. beckyday6 says:

    I didn’t realise this book was by John Green! It doesn’t look the usual covers of this books. I need to read one at some point he receives so much praise.
    Glad you enjoyed!

Don't be shy!

