Review – The Naturals

17884029The Naturals (The Naturals, Bk 1)

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

purchased

What fun!  A serial killer is on the loose and will only be caught if the teenagers currently being trained in a new, controversial FBI program get involved.  They are naturals, at profiling, at numbers, and at lying.

Cassie is pulled into the program because she is a natural profiler.  She gets to know her other “classmates” and tries to figure them out.  If you like procedurals and young adult with a little teen angst, this book is great.  You get a bit of the killer’s thoughts interspersed between chapters from Cassie’s first person point of view.  The tension ratchets as things come together, turns are twisty and everyone is hiding something…

This is a fast read and Barnes only gives you enough to see where things are and understand the action, basically no big information dumps and she tempers her details to “just the facts”.  Well not completely, but you get the idea.  It makes it a little bit like the way Joss Wheden filmed Cabin in the Woods, so close to the actors you can’t see the scary thing coming up behind then (though you know it is there).  Tense!  🙂

So I really enjoyed this book, I am hoping it is the beginning of a series and look forward to another one.  Cassie still has some things to figure out and I am curious where they might go.  4 stars covered in Do Not Cross police tape.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – The Naturals

  1. shayshortt says:

    I enjoyed this one as well, but it really seems to be just the beginning, and I can’t wait to see where the series goes.

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I am obsessed with books with serial killers. I think this one sounds awesome, but I got nervous to read it because of some of the reviews I was seeing.

    • ocdreader says:

      I never read any reviews – but I can see how people might want more details – they can be a little light. You know how some of those YA books keep it to bare bones?
      Or maybe they didn’t like the wrap up. Whatevs…it is YA and I had fun. 🙂

  3. diannegray says:

    This sounds very upbeat, Elisa – it’s now on my ‘to read’ list 😀

Don't be shy!

