Review – Team Human

team humanTeam Human

by Justine Larbalestier & Sarah Rees Brennan

purchased

If you like the snarky teen thing, this is a book for you.  The thing is, I usually like that teen snarkiness, but this goes on for so long!  So for a while, that is all you get with Mel running around “fixing” things for her friends, cause she knows best out of anyone.  Since I am so busy these days, I almost set the book down as too fluffy and not interesting enough.  But I was too busy to pick a different and book and eventually her machinations run afoul and she has to realize she isn’t all knowing, nor can people or vampires be pigeonholed into stereotypes.  Once that started happening, I was engaged and wanted to know what the heck was going to happen!

The whole thing is really cute, but once we are introduced to Kit and Mel gets her own interesting boy, the book finally took off for me.  Though she still is a little nosy Nancy who is going to fix the world…it was more engaging than off-putting.  Especially since her friends ultimately understand that her outbursts show she cares.

Anyway, this book really explores the whole who might do well as a vampire vs who should stick to Team Human.  There is a mystery.  Feelings are vetted.  Ideas are explored and the dating habits of young teens represented, it was all really cute.

So even though I was pretty iffy about this book for the first 100 pages or so, it was still engaging.  But if you aren’t into the “I know everything” precocious teenager thing, it might get old.  I did shed a tear or two at the end.  It was bittersweet and just plain sweet.  I started out meh about the book but I really enjoyed it by the end. 3.5 vampire stars wearing a hazmat suit so they can walk around in broad daylight.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Team Human

  1. Cathy i says:

    Don’t know about this one… I probably don’t have the fortitude to stick it out! I’m trying to plough through Monuments Men…bet Michael would like it.

  2. diannegray says:

    I’m so impatient – I don’t think I could do 100 pages and keep at it. You’re a trooper and I’m glad it was worth it in the end 😉

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    It’s hard for me to finish a book that is fluff the first 100 pages. But I always did want to try this book out.

Don't be shy!

