Review – Omens

omensOmens (Cainsville, Bk 1)

by Kelley Armstrong

purchased/swapped

Ok, I always knew I enjoyed Kelley Armstrong books…I love her women of the underworld and the YA series.  She writes wonderful characters you care about, would want to hang out with, and certainly want to read about.  This is a new series about a society woman who finds out she is adopted.  Oh yea, and her biological parents are serial killers.

So one media storm later she is in a small town full of wacky folks, Cainsville.  Now we all know Cain was exiled.  He did something bad and thrown out of society.  So what the heck is this town and who are the people that live there?  They seem sort of normal, besides local town in-fighting and keeping outsiders away, and not trusting ravens and welcoming the daughter of serial killers with open arms.

So Armstrong does a bit of a slow release with her information.  Things don’t really make a lot of sense for a while, and honestly, I can’t wait for book two because there is more to learn.  Lots more I imagine.  The story is about her trying to see if her biological parents really did kill these people but it is almost like they are blundering through trip wires and setting things in motion.  Someone is pulling some strings and things aren’t what they seem on many levels.

What I love also about this book, is though it is told in first person from Olivia/Eden’s point of view, there are very short chapters throughout the narrative that give you a glimpse into the other characters.  You get a rounding of even minor bit players that fleshes out our character spectrum.  I love it because what you see through Olivia’s eyes, is not what you get once you are in these other character’s heads.  It adds to the mystery of the town and its inhabitants and gives you hints on what Olivia is going to learn as she continues on her quest.

There is a bit of a romantic interest, hints of what might come as the story progresses, but nothing definite.  Not really sure where Armstrong will take things, but that is the fun of the journey!  I really enjoyed it and it made me nervous and intrigued by the quirky townspeople.  4.5 stars shaped like gargoyles who disappear and reappear at will.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Mystery, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review – Omens

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    OMG, you had me at serial killing parents. This books sounds Awesome. I am soooo excited.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Ok, I will fully admit that I skipped your review apart from the opening because I have this to read and I’m really excited about it. I don’t know much about the plot so I’m looking forward to going in blind. I’m sure it was a wonderful review as always though!
    A book buddy of mine got me my very own signed copy ALL the way from Canada and shipped it to the UK, I’m a little terrified to pick it up in case it disintegrates in my hands or something. 😀

Don't be shy!

