Review – Confessions of Sylva Slasher

sylva slasherThe Confessions of Sylva Slasher

by Ace Antonio Hall

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

I was so excited to read this!  I LOVE the cover and the zombie cruise ship idea.  Fun.  So Sylva is a young but a necromancer and raises deadheads for a living so people can say a final goodbye, or find out something.  A bit like an Anita Blake, but more comic book.

It is young and fun and then things take a crazy turn.  In fact, I think I will declare that reading books written by men generally throw me for more plot loops than women authors.  They take it to more unexpected places, which is fun, but I do wrinkle my forehead in confusion a time or two.

Anyway, if you like zombies, pop culture references, guns and swords and crazy twisty story lines you might want to check this out.  While things did confuse me a bit, especially the wrap up, you and I could debate what is happening here and have a fun conversation over a bottle of wine…what do you say?

Sylva is young but gung ho.  Her friends are loyal and her life is complicated.  She is hired to raise a celebrity’s recently deceased husband aboard a Halloween zombie cruise.  Things go from there.

The world is complicated.  There are many things that go bump in the night and there are quite a few characters we follow.  Sylva and her best friend Emily, her boyfriend Flip and then a few military characters, Meds, Reaper, Techie and more.  The world tilts quite a few times, keep your mind flexible to follow where Hall leads you.  I will say that even though I think a few things are loosely tied, I was fascinated and couldn’t stop reading.  Honestly, the story is a fully fleshed out comic book and I think it would translate really well into a graphic novel.

Hall makes a few tropes stand on their head, so don’t go in expecting the same old thing.  And then he switches the story up pretty good. 3.5 katana sword shaped stars, they cut through zombie neck like butter!

Ace Antonio HallAbout the Author: Ace Antonio-Hall was first published in 1998 in an Adelphi University publication called Luna, with a short story titled “1936.” After earning his BFA degree from Long Island University, he taught middle-school English for over ten years.

He now lives in southern California, and was the Vice President of the Greater Los Angeles Writers Society (2009-2011), and still holds an executive position in the organization which gives him a huge platform to market, sell, and promote his work through the many conferences, meetings and book fairs that GLAWS holds each month. He is also a member of LASFS and the International Thriller Writers.

His first novel, a coming-of-age YA zombie story, The Confessions of Sylva Slasher, was released April 2013 by Montag Press. It is part of a series with the next book Skateboard Xombies, expected for release early next year.

About the writing life, he says: “I harmlessly dream in Technicolor nightmares, watch a ton of horror flicks, eat more donuts than I should, and refuse to stop reading Spider-Man. All of those combined give me a sweet tooth to write about the suite life of zombies.”

Ace’s true labor of love is writing fast-paced fiction with character-driven plots featuring female protagonists. He continues to write short stories and build on the world of teen necromancer Sylva Slasher as she reigns as Princess of the Undead.

You can find out more about Ace, including his music and screen acting credits, and his involvement with the Hollywood Actors Academy as part-owner, Acting Coach and Creative Director, at the IMDb Biography web site.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Review, YA, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Confessions of Sylva Slasher

  1. pooks says:

    I have not been bit by the zombie bug. However I love twisty plots and this sounds like fun.

    • ocdreader says:

      Oh I enjoy the zombie thing for some reason, not all the time but sprinkled throughout. Although some of these books can get gory – I forgot to mention that this one has a lot of slashing and gory bits too…

  2. Pingback: LIVE Book Tour – The Confessions of Sylva Slasher by Ace Antonio Hall

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    You have to read an author with the name of Ace Antonio-Hall, don’t you? I loved the concept of Confessions. Very interesting and very different.

Don't be shy!

