Review – Asylum

asylumAsylum (Asylum, Bk 1)

by Madeleine Roux

Male protagonist in a creepy summer college program where all the kids are housed in an old sanitarium.  Dude, it was great.  The story moved fairly quickly. There was a little love interest, some crazy characters and tons of creepy things happening.  Even the town feels like it is under the “creepy miasma” the sanitarium throws out there.

The story moved along at a pretty decent pace.  A few things felt a tiny bit clunky but I was having so much fun it didn’t really bother me.  I liked the characters and if they did anything stupid at least the story moved fast enough so I wasn’t in a tension limbo for too long.  The pictures simply added to the color and creep factor.  They have a heightened sense of drama and let you see a little more by adding to the descriptions of things.  But they didn’t seem to force the story in any direction, which I appreciated.

The only thing that surprised me was the how.  I won’t say what happens exactly, but I had a hard time suspending disbelief and I don’t know why, because I can usually roll with just about anything!  So, it was wonderfully tense, scary and freaky and it seemed like there could possibly be more story in some form or another.  She could stick with these characters, or pull a new set in.  I am curious what it will be.  3.5 stars with old lobotomy stitches across their foreheads.  They don’t smile much anymore, but they are relatively harmless to themselves and others…

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Asylum

  1. Gwynneth says:

    The book came with picture? Am I reading that right? like in an old fashioned kid’s book? Sounds intriguing. Not seen that done in a while.

  2. diannegray says:

    I really like the cover. How many pictures are in the book?

    • ocdreader says:

      Cover is awesome! Quite a few pictures, not as many as the Miss Peregrine’s book, but probably 20ish, it seemed like there were a couple per chapter.

  3. bibliobeth says:

    Love your review, I’m so curious to see this one, especially with the pictures. I bought Miss Peregrine for my Kindle then was gutted when I realised it had pictures as I prefer a pretty “real” book for that!

Don't be shy!

