Review – The Last Academy

last academyThe Last Academy

by Anne Applegate

Well, I enjoyed this. It is a little bit slow but bizarre, and then it bashes you at the end with the story near the end, but it kept me reading and intrigued.  Not that there is a ton to it, it is a boarding school romp, with confusing people and creepy interactions. So, if you don’t mind a quick read yet young high school age issues with some heavy stuff at the end, try it out.

Camden is sent to boarding school for Freshman year after her best friend is super mean to her at a pool party.  The school is across the country, she doesn’t know anyone and people are kind of mean.  Also, there is a pretty dang weird, unrepentant scary dude in charge of everyone running around.  Pretty soon someone disappears and he seems to be the one who caused it, yet know one freaks out except for Camden.

So what the heck is going on?  What is this guy doing and why are the teachers sort of afraid of him?  You have to read it to find out!  It is pretty cool.  The end is a little shocking, though you kind of figure things out around the half way mark, it is still good to see Camden figure it out.  Not as dramatically as it could have been, but it was still fun.  I would have completely dug this book if I were younger and didn’t have the knowledge I do now, it would have been way more exciting for the reveal.  Anyway, three pictures of stars on a board, labeled with their names, all three disappeared before the end of term yet no one seems to care.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The Last Academy

  1. pooks says:

    That sounds intriguing. ~waggles eyebrows in waggly way~

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I like the bizarre part but not the slow part. Yeah, I am interested, this sounds so mysterious.

Don't be shy!

