Review – Charming

charmingCharming (Pax Arcana, Bk 1)

by Elliott James

This was great. I loved the extra explanations and details and “aha” moments shared with the reader, even about why vampires don’t like running water, or garlic or holy water, or where Polish jokes got started (thanks Hitler).  I love getting information with my wild ride of a story! Though the information dumps have turned other people off from the story.  I thought they were great.

John has been living among humans, hiding from the paranormals for a while now.  He is living among us, but not truly living.  That is until a blond and a vampire walk into his bar.

This book is filled with puns, tongue-in-cheek humor and tasty bits of information.  The story action is pretty good, the characters interesting and I loved John’s internal monologue.  He doesn’t trust as he has been hunted for quite some time now, but he is a good guy so it doesn’t take much for him to help out where needed.

There is a bit of a romantic angle, but a big impediment, so it doesn’t center around two characters together, more about them circling and that is mostly on the side of the action.  Many of the characters seem to have push/pull motivations, so it is hard to know who to believe, trust or like – for the reader and for John.  Keeps everyone on their toes.  There are times where it seems the action lulls, you wonder what we are doing here and what will happen, but it seems like a stake-out.  The downtime before the bad guys go nuts and the hotheads can get into trouble (on either the good side or bad side).

There is more in store for John and his merry band of do-gooders, evil destroyers or whatever you want to call them.  There are plenty of paranormals that go bump in the night and cause major problems for the norms that they need to hunt down.  John also has to deal with those hunting him…so I am excited to see what happens next!  3.5 Valkirie warriors throwing spears at bad guys.  They hit what they aim for, don’t get get them mad at you!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Charming

  1. Nick Wilford says:

    Nice review. I like my romance mixed with a fair bit of action. This sounds good.

  2. diannegray says:

    This sounds good. It’s so hard to put puns and tongue-in-cheek humour in stories because it comes off badly if it’s not done the right way. Sounds like Elliott James knows his stuff! 🙂

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    This was a good book. Loved the humor and male POV but yeah, those info-dumps ruined it for me.

Don't be shy!

