Review – Dead of Winter

dead of witnerDead of Winter (Cora Oglesby, Bk 1)

by Lee Collins

Published by Angry Robot (which I note because they seem to publish really good stuff, they just aren’t main stream for some reason – I am reading Between Two Thorns right now, also published by Angry Robot, it is great, I am a new fan!)

I found this book at a used bookstore and now I will need to buy Collin’s future books.  Well written, a Deadwood Western meets vampires and other paranormal scaries.  Cora is a hired gun roaming the West with her husband but they fight paranormal bad guys, not humans.

Cora is a whiskey drinking, foul-mouthed hooligan of a woman who loves her bookish and quiet husband Ben.  But she rocks at her job and is becoming a bit of a legend with regards to her prowess with a gun.  A female gunslinger.

Something evil has slithered into town and the local sheriff reluctantly requests Cora and Ben help him rid his town of the menace.  The story picks up pace once that happens.

Cora is a mess which Ben picks up each day.  But she is quite proficient and skilled at what they do.  She is the leader while Ben is the researcher.  Things happen, people and some baddies die, lots of whiskey is knocked back, cursing happens, revelations are made while evil slithers about and makes things tough for our hero.  4 pickaxes used to kill vampires deep in the silver mine when stakes are hard to find.

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review – Dead of Winter

  1. cathy i says:

    loved this book also!!!!

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Well, Cora sounds like my kind of woman. :).

  3. diannegray says:

    Its great to just come across these beauties in used bookstores. Nice pick! 😀

Don't be shy!

