Review – Hold Me Closer, Necromancer

hold me closer necromancerHold Me Closer, Necromancer

by Lish McBride

What a fun book!  YA with a male protagonist, tongue in cheek humor with a paranormal cast of characters and a lead who doesn’t know his abilities.  So it is a coming of age slacker kid story and an OMG look at all the beasties and meanies living in our world and I didn’t know it story.  Those are fun when done right and this had the right balance of teen romp mixed with paranormal crazy that I love so much.   It also started each chapter with a song title mixed up with a paranormal word…they were fun to read.

A ton happens.  This kid, Sam learns some things, his friends are messed with, his family is messy and his life changes in huge ways.  Makes me wonder where it goes from here because there is a second book, Necromancing the Stone, which I am happy to report I have hidden in one of my stacks around here somewhere.  The book isn’t perfect, motivations are weird at times and might not always make sense but whatever.  It was a fun read.  I enjoyed the characters, I thought the tongue in cheek humor was entertaining and the wacky situations kept me guessing.  I couldn’t fully predict where things were going and I appreciate that.

But it is a little dark.  There are bad people out there, and it is about necromancy and necromancers, people die as does Sam’s career in the fast food industry.  So, you know, it isn’t all bad.  🙂  Also, there is a little romance/sex, so it is for older teens I guess (if the darkness and death didn’t scare you already).

Four stars shot from a mini dragons mouth.  They won’t stop burning if they hit you, so duck quickly!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Hold Me Closer, Necromancer

  1. diannegray says:

    I’m still giggling over the title – very clever! 😀

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Death and darkness don’t scare me!!! I love the sound of this. The humor sounds great. And I am so into male POVs.

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Well if that’s not an intriguing title I don’t know what is. 🙂

Don't be shy!

