Review – Bloodshot (Cheshire Red Reports, Bk 1)

bloodshotBloodshot (Cheshire Red Reports, Bk 1)

by Cherie Priest

This book was thoroughly entertaining to me.  I read it on a plane and wasn’t enticed away by the free movies, so you know it was good!  When I was reading something else I watched The Lego Movie instead of reading my book, not sure if that speaks to the book or my desire to see what all the fuss was about.  When I did read, it was mainly YA books so reading this adult book was a nice change of pace.

This book starts out very hardboiled detective story.  No nonsense.  Raylene is a cat burglar for hire.  She is also a vampire without a House or family, a loner.  But as the story goes on, you realize she isn’t as alone and hardened as likes to think she is.

The entourage she accumulates and the squishiness of her heart are what makes this book so much fun.  She accepts a job from another vampire and this leads her on a series of adventures, and puts her in the cross-hairs of some supremely bad people.  It also brings her across Sister Rose, a transvestite performer who is an awesome character and who I hope is somehow in the next book.  The story is good, there are action sequences and lots of running around trying to figure things out.  Also a crazy gun fight with big explosions.  It was fun.  If you like a gumshoe story and stories with paranormal and other crazy characters, you might want to check this book out.  Not much romance to speak of, though you do get a little flirting.

4 stars with towering blond wigs, red lips and fishnet stockings, they put the Rockette’s to shame, you barely notice the adam’s apples.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

