Review – The Sea of Tranquility

sea of tranquilityThe Sea of Tranquility

by Katya Millay

If you like a romance with broken people finding redemption and love with each other, you have to check this one out.  It is a kind of New Adult book as both are nearing graduation from high school, and both characters are extremely adult due to the horrors they have endured and are still trying to survive.  And all the teens seem to be having sex, or expect to have it, duh.

Very well done.  The horrors are slowly explained as you read the story.  You know both are broken and you find out why as they find out and learn about each other.  The point of view switches between the two main characters and the internal dialogue is mainly how you find out what the heck is going on, especially since our main heroine has chosen not to talk.

The side characters have issues as well and there is plenty of angst and cattiness in the high school waters that all of them have to navigate.  This novel really shows the icebergs that teenagers can be, surface is one thing, but most everything is happening underneath.  Also, you can’t judge a book by its cover because not everyone has had your life.

Well, idiom’s aside, this book was great.  It engaged quickly, enticed me to keep reading and it wasn’t a short one either.  But I finished it quickly and bawled my eyes out at the end.  BUT I cry pretty easily when people find their happy place or redemption and all that good stuff.

If you like new adult and romance, give this one a whirl, I don’t think you will be disappointed.  4+ stars drawn

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in New Adult, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The Sea of Tranquility

  1. Romance? Pssch, the title had me thinking this was going to be about the Moon Landings.

Don't be shy!

