Review – A Monster Calls

a monster callsA Monster Calls

by Patrick Ness

This little YA picture book (yes there are a ton of pictures) was so intense!  About a boy whose mother is dying of cancer and his feelings about that.  Also his feelings about his grandmother, his friends, his absent father and himself.  Wow, lots of feels!  If you aren’t into reading about the emotions and ways they can be shown by a young teen (or almost teen, can’t remember) don’t go here.  BUT, if you have kids, work with kids, were a kid or will read just about anything, you can’t go wrong here.

A very simple story about a complex issue.  A boy has a nightmare.  The nightmare tells him stories.  He deals with his day to day life.

It really is quite simple and the climax is expected and you can kind of see where it is going but holy moly it is really well done!  It explains things, it allows you to think what if that happened to me or someone I know, would I do that?  It also makes you think about how to treat kids going through that type of experience.  What you THINK you should do and what will be the best for that kid might be completely different.

I thought it was great, powerful and intense.  I sobbed.  I know I must have needed the pathos but I freaking leaked huge alligator tears.  I had to hide from everyone while finishing.  4 stars decorated with berries that might even be medicinal.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – A Monster Calls

  1. pooks says:

    This sounds amazing. I may have to dip into these angsty waters.

  2. Good review, it made me think long and hard on what way to treat a grieving child in school. It showed that Conor just craved stability in a time of turmoil. Check out my blog on it if you have the time. Let me know what you think.
    http://lightlit.wordpress.com/2014/07/08/a-monster-calls-by-patrick-ness-the-true-meaning-of-grief/

Don't be shy!

