Review – Girl of Nightmares (Anna, Bk 2)

girl of nightmaresGirl of Nightmares (Anna, Bk 2)

Kendare Blake

Worthwhile to read since I loved the first book so much, but I didn’t love this one like that one.  Why?  Not enough Anna or scary paranormal parts.

Though I do like Thomas and Carmel and Cas, I liked them better when they were ghost hunters bumbling about.  Now they are teens dealing with the aftermath of the first book, bumbling about.  Call me crazy, but it isn’t as exciting.

But otherwise the story is a little floppy for a while.  Who knows what is going on and it isn’t that exciting until it starts to move and things fall into place and then it crazy and fast!  You just have to get through more than half to start getting excited about anything.  Though there is one scene in the first half which is tense, but it is over too fast.

So, I casually read the first part and continued reading because I read reviews that said “keep reading”.  Otherwise it was a teen kind of “adults say don’t do that, but the kids do anyway” story with a few exciting bits.  I have read too many YA books lately to care much.  I love my YA but the angst and ignoring, and I am smarter than the adults (which is all realistic) just gets blah.  SO, I was very excited to get to the out of this world paranormal parts which were super fun and a tad bit confusing.

An unbalanced story for me.  But a satisfying conclusion.  Not sure if Blake will continue on in this world, if she does I would hope Cas finds a new scary ghost to bond with, but not sure that would happen.  Anyway, 3.5 black obsidian ghost killer stars that are as mysterious as they are effective.

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Horror, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review – Girl of Nightmares (Anna, Bk 2)

  1. Gwynneth says:

    i still have to read this series. i have both books sitting on my shelf. Maybe soon. Yours is not the only iffy review I’ve seen of this one, though. Doesn’t inspire me to push the series to the top of the pile.

    • ocdreader says:

      I hear that! I really loved book one, but I read iffy reviews about book two and didn’t finally read it until I promised the book to someone else. lol – was good, just not as wonderful as I was hoping for. Ah well, she is an author to watch though! Hope you enjoy them when you finally roll around to them.

  2. diannegray says:

    Interesting that other reviewers said to keep reading. Makes me thing the story should probably have started in the middle of the book 😉

  3. beckyday6 says:

    I remember at one point in time I kept seeing this series popping up everywhere and I always wondered if it was worth a read. For some reason it doesn’t overly appeal to me, I’m not sure why. I think with so many paranormal books like this out there these days I have become quite picky!

    Sorry to hear the second book didn’t quite live up to the first!

Don't be shy!

