Review – The End is Nigh

end is nighThe End is Nigh (Apocalypse Triptych, Bk 1)

Edited by John Joseph Adams and Hugh Howey

A compilation of short stories about the end of the world, which is just about to happen.  The second book will be about it happening and the third, just after.

Some stories I liked better than others, but they were all different and well done.  I read them ALL!  Which, since I have a hard time with short stories sometimes, says a lot in either how much I love the subject matter, or just how good they all are.  I don’t read short stories often because you can’t bite and tuck in for a feed, they are only 20-30 minute snacks and then a new world.  You have so many characters to get to know in such a short amount of time…but they were compelling.  They were all different, who knew there were so many ways to end life as we know it?  Some had detailed explanations, others not so much.  They were fascinating and around the half way through mark, I had to set the book down to not get sucked into a mini despair.  (You know me and my emotional reading!  I was feeling bummed that the world had ended and kept ending in various creative ways…)

One story had me a little green around the gills, a few others bummed, some stunned in their creativity and I was a little bit turned off fruit for a minute.  (ok, I still flash back here and there but I still think about zombies when in the stairwell at work, so there you go).

Computers, man-made biologics, zombies, aliens, asteroids, you name it!  I really applaud the fact they are creating three of these books and self-publishing them (it does not read like it was self-published, the editing was awesome).  Can’t wait for the next one!!  4 super volcanoes ready to blow and end life civilization as we know it.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Apocalyptic, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The End is Nigh

  1. bibliobeth says:

    Sounds great! Must put this on my wishlist, great review 🙂

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Wow, you actually have me intrigued. I hate end of the world type books, but I would love to see all the creatively in how the world ends.

Don't be shy!

