Review – Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 2)

scarletScarlet (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 2)

by Marissa Meyer

The speed picks up in this one!  Danger, war, evil and little red riding hood, grandmother and her wolf.

The chapters switch between Cinder and Scarlet so there is a lot going on.  Only a little bit of time has passed since the last book and Cinder has to figure out what to do, and Scarlet needs to find her missing Grandmother.

Scarlet is a feisty one.  She is almost too feisty actually, she doesn’t stop and think, they just jumps right on into the action.  This makes her an interesting character for sure, but also a little bit tiring.  Wolf is very exciting and scary too, they sort of have an instant deep connection which is lame, but since the time line for this book isn’t very long, I guess it is the only way to fit it in and get a few things to happen.  Cinder is in a rough situation and trying to figure out what to do, her side kick is silly but brave and her love interest Kai, is also figuring things out.  Queen Levana is totally evil and she shows that side of herself quite a bit in this book, and the ending, ugh!  (Let me say, it ended fine, just there is a LOT that has to be done to hopefully get a satisfying ending, this IS only book 2 of 4)  The horrors that have happened and still await the world are daunting unless our intrepid heroines figure out what to do!

So, lots of action.  A couple of crazy new characters and the ones we have loved and hated are still wonderful or even more horrible.  The world is rough and violent and danger lurks everywhere.  If you like YA, dystopian-type stories, mixed up fairy tales, robots and lots of action, you might consider checking this series out.  I am VERY excited to get my hands on Cress.  While I enjoyed Cinder, I really got into Scarlet and can’t wait to see what happens next!  4 stars made out of homegrown tomatoes, nothing tastes like homegrown tomatoes!!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in fairy tale, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 2)

  1. diannegray says:

    I certainly love home grown tomatoes!

    I had a bit of a giggle when I read these words “…they sort of have an instant deep connection which is lame.”

    One day I’d love to see a book written by you that includes all these amazing descriptions of the books you’ve read 😀

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    You know me, Cinder was okay for me, but I have such great things about this one. Everyone loves Scarlet!

    • ocdreader says:

      I have to agree, Cinder was good, not amazing or anything, but with Scarlet it was fun adding the extra story line and I really got into it. If you end up continuing the books, I hope you enjoy it more too!

  3. This series sounds brilliant! I need to pick it up. 🙂

Don't be shy!

