Review – Me Before You

I have neglected my blog for WEEKS!  Hope you all are doing well.  Missed you.  Trying to get back in the swing of things.  Talk soon.

Me Before You

By Jojo Moyes

A page turner that makes you think, and maybe cry a little.

So, a story about a girl who loses her comfortable job, can’t find one and becomes a caretaker for a quadriplegic man.  They become close.  She tries to help him realize life is worth living.

This story was easy breezy to read.  It went fast, the chapters were short, lots of dialogue and painful situations were fairly quickly resolved.  There is humor and a wonderful relationship between cranky Will and Louisa.  She pushes back as much as he pushes her.  I kept reading to see where it went.

What is most interesting about this book is the situation and ideas it brings up.  I don’t want to say too much, but would you support your loved one with anything they truly wanted?  When you help someone or provide something for them, are you putting yourself ahead of their feelings?   Do you give them what they want, or what you think they should want?  A unorthodox romance.  Breaks your heart while it heals.  Lovely.

Anyway, interesting yet easily read book.  My mom and her husband both enjoyed it and bookclub thought it was wonderful.  Kind of a chick lit, but heavier.

At some point I will be checking out Miss Moyes’ other books.  3.5 stars in wheelchairs.  rolling across the sky, getting up the nerve to try skydiving.

 

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Me Before You

  1. Great, honest review 🙂

  2. Chick-lit was never my thing, but this sounds good.

Don't be shy!

