Review – Third – Fifth Graves

third gravefourth graveThird Grave Dead Ahead through Fifth Grave Past the Light

by Darynda Jones

I read these three books during my blogging black hole so I am combining them as more of a series review.  Oh my goodness, once I get into the swing of these books and into the flow of how Charley thinks and talks, it is hilarious.  She cracks me up.  She is sort of a snarky teen with ADD and a serious addiction to tall, dark and angelic/demonic.

fifth graveThere are mysteries to be solved.  Someone is killing someone else.  Charley’s relationship with her romantic interest Reyes is always sexy and interesting.  Cookie is hilarious, her family has its ups and downs and eventually you even get a little insight into the evil step-monster.  So, the characters make the books for me.  Throw in a mystery, someone out to kill Charley (either human or demonic) and it is awesome.  Plus add the police procedural stuff with Uncle Bob and even his boss trying to figure out how Charley ends up solving so many cases, with Charley and others in the thick of things.  Yea baby, too much fun.

I think what I like about these, is that while Charley is a grim reaper, she is anything but grim.  She says those cheesy lines you think up in your head and never say.  It usually pop culture meets naughty vixen, meets a real person running on too much coffee.  Some books are a little slower than others, but even when Charley is depressed, she eventually gets herself into some ridiculous scrape and pulls her ice cream eating butt out of the funk.  You gotta love it.  There are some books with more racy scenes than others, and while Reyes and Charley do have an on-again off-again relationship, it doesn’t revolve around that stuff.

So, if you like paranormal-lite, humor and some silliness, you can’t go wrong with this series.  I am hoping to get my hands on the Sixth Grave installment soon.  Some books are better than others, I think Three was a bit slow, but I still ate it up quickly.  They are usually 4 to 4.5 stars cause they are perfect distractions from every day life.  Both my mom and sister have been made to read the first one, but they keep asking me for the next one…so I think they like them too.  🙂

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Third – Fifth Graves

  1. I’ve seen them often on blogs and at book shops but never started this series. They sound like fun so I may have to give it a go

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I love the sound of the characters. I totally say those cheesy lines I think in my head all the time. lol.

Don't be shy!

