Review – Now I See You

now i see youNow I See You

by Nicole Kear

We had to read this cute little memoir for bookclub.  It was good, it was quick, it was hilarious and easy to read.  But it was also kind of lacking for me.  Once I got towards the end, I was ready for her to do what needed doing and the book to end.  She told engaging stories and snippets from her life, and she worked in her failing eyesight to explain why she did certain things.  But maybe it wasn’t as in depth as I was hoping, or something.

Anyway, it was more surface and funny and while I could slightly empathize, I certainly don’t fully understand what it would be like to be in her shoes.  It is light entertainment, and I learned a few things, but ultimately, you realize just how much people delude themselves into thinking their coping mechanisms make sense.

BUT, I must say, the first half of the book was pretty dang funny. For some reason her description of childbirth was insanely funny to me.  I have never had a baby, so that is probably partially why.  Anyway, a nice diversion.  We barely spoke about it at bookclub, it was crazy, I think our book discussion lasted 5 minutes.  Not sure if it had to do with the book or the wine, but everyone liked it, it just did not provide much fodder for discussion.  3 stars that can’t shake your hand, not because they don’t have the peripheral vision to see your hand to shake it, but because they don’t have hands – duh.

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

