Frivolous Friday – Nature

Hello all!  Looooooong time, no talk.  I think I lost my habit and I desperately need to get back into it.  Writing that is.  Work is going to require I write more soon and I need the casual feel of this place, so bear with me as I try to jump back in to business as usual.  Hope everyone is planning on a lovely holiday season full of parties, family and friends.  I just had a houseful for Thanksgiving.  It was crazy and so much fun. I love that holiday, you just over-cook and over-eat and hang out with people you enjoy (hopefully!).  Well, besides family, I had another visitor.  This little guy.  He showed up on Tuesday.

Gerald

He wasn’t afraid of us and had a number on his leg.  So we looked up homing pigeons, fed and watered him and expected him to be on his way.  But no.  He was pecking around our yard the next day, and the next, and the next, and well you get it.  We called him Gerald. One day he almost walked in the door to hang out.

Today, Sunday, my in-laws need a good breakfast before they leave for home, so we go to brunch.  We get home around 12pm.  We pull into the driveway.  I open the car door.  A hawk flies by at eye level.  He is HUGE and only 5 feet from my head, so cool.  I turn and watch his flight.  He has a pigeon in his talons.  “A hawk got Gerald!” I cry and run up the stairs, throw open the door and sprint to the porch.  I am met with a crime scene.  Feathers, blood, things.  My in-laws are still down in the driveway looking at me like I am crazy.  “Whaaaaaat?!” they cry.  “A. Hawk. Got. Gerald!” I can’t remember the word for pigeon, why don’t they know what I am talking about?  Seriously.  Why don’t they run upstairs to obsess with me?  They remain down below looking at me.  Always with the looking.

I review the gore.  There is birdseed on the railing.  There are splotches here and there.  I want to turn away but I don’t want to either.  My stomach is churning.  Adrenaline is surging.  The dog follows me.  I grab his mouth and remove a feather.  My in-laws finally slowly approach me and ask me again what happened.  “The pigeon.  A hawk took the pigeon who has been hanging out with us.”  See, I can remember words.  I can speak normally.  Finally I say “I am sorry, I am very upset.” I think I even use my indoor voice.

My husband comes home.  I point at my dog Luke and throw ideas around.  He eventually gets the shop vacuum and cleans up the feathers.  We pack up my in-laws car, I smile and wave.  A hawk cries in the distance and the wild birds (including pigeons) scatter from the bird feeder.

Stupid nature.  But, I am thankful for the little time we had with a brainless feathered guy who couldn’t figure out he needed to go home.  Enjoy your friends, family and random visitors while you have them.  Life happens.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frivolous Friday – Nature

  1. Gwynn says:

    So glad to see you back! Even if it is with a sad story. I really felt your pain. Poor Gerald, and you. I must get back into my blog, too. Sigh.

    • ocdreader says:

      Good luck getting back to the blog, it is so easy to fall out of practice, I seriously can’t believe how quickly time flies when you are avoiding something. Oh well. hope you are having a lovely holiday season 🙂

  2. Oh dear, poor Gerald.

    Welcome back though! We’ve missed you and stuff.

  3. cathy ingram says:

    Well, to paraphrase Frank McCourt, it’s not the happy stories that are worth your while..It’s the gut wrenching emotional pain that brings out the best tales. And this was a remarkable story. Thanks for sharing.

Don't be shy!

