New Series worth checking out

Since I am in an individual book reviewing slump, I will recommend a few paranormal series I have been enjoying.

1. fatedThe Alex Verus books by Benedict Jacka.  If you like Harry Dresden by Jim Butcher, Alex Verus might be up your alley.  Male wizard, setting is London, owns a magic shop, has integrity in a world where other mages are power hungry.  Crazy stuff happens, magic creatures exist and he nearly gets killed in each book.  Very exciting, bad guys abound though the lines between good and bad are pretty blurred.  Makes you wonder every book who the “bad” guy really is.

generation v2. Generation V books – I love the side character, a kitsune who is hilarious and snarky and Fortitude the vampire lead is awesome.  The first book he was way too whiny, but he is growing up and learning how to take on responsibility and care for people, unlike his more bottom-line and power hungry family.  A modern day vampire with generation gap issues.  A little bit of romance, but mostly urban fantasy.

omens3.  Visions and Omens by Kelley Armstrong.  These books suck me in, chew me up and spit me out.  Serial killers, fae, gargoyles, who is good and who is bad and what the heck is going on?  We learn more in book two, but the pacing is awesome and metes out just enough details to make you slavering for more.  If you like paranormal mysteries, these are great with more to come.  Can’t wait for book 3.

œF$¿Æ‘$8Òò¤»däå¸R8BI4. I have only read the first book and it is only a trilogy, but Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach.  Our lead heroine isn’t perfect, she makes mistakes but she tries really hard and is pretty happy with who she is.  She is basically a mercenary/security person for hire on a spaceship.  What is going on?  Is everyone who they appear to be?  Urban fantasy in space.  Weird creatures, mysteries, action and near death experiences.

That is good for now, maybe I will talk YA next post.  What books have you been chewing on lately?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Series worth checking out

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Yeah, I need to read Omen from Armstrong. Heard great things.

Don't be shy!

