Airplane Reading – I Am Princess X

One of the books I read on my Florida work trip was an ARC of…

i am princess xI Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

This is a YA read with a comic strip integrated with the story.  I have another one of those on my TBR called In The Shadows which is gorgeous. You get the benefit of graphic novel with story around it.  Sort of like Allie Brosh’s essays (which I also absolutely loved and highly recommend, they made me laugh so hard my husband kicked me out of the room).

This story has a superhero feel, fairly improbable but lots of action, a bit of a mystery and it was just plain enjoyable to read.  Though, it deals with some rough subjects.  Murder of a parent (superhero!), death and destruction, and lots of cyber hacking.  It really made me want to run around Seattle though.  It integrates the city, using existing topography as clues, almost making it a character as well.  If you ever noticed the Obey Giant stickers and artwork, which you should be able to find in most urban settings, this book started out with me thinking about good old Andre as stickers of Princess X start showing up around town.

The ARC was missing some of the comic strip pictures, they were simply described so I think I would like to get my hands on the published book at some point.

Lots of danger, intrigue, clue finding, strong female characters and crazy feelings.  It is a load of fun and if you like superheroes and comic books, check this story out.  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Airplane Reading – I Am Princess X

  1. diannegray says:

    My hubby refuses to read anything unless it has pictures (lol) – so this sounds perfect for him for a Christmas pressie. I love the way yours kicked you out of the bedroom because you were laughing so much at Allie Brosh’s essays 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      I love it! Allie Brosh’s essays would be perfect too, actually. Those are great with lots of pictures.
      As for the hubby, yea, he was watching TV and I was being distracting I guess.

Don't be shy!

